Relaxing in the sun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Lanzarote
February 22nd 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

While everyone else in the lab was freezing cold in Cambridge, I was sunning myself in Lanzarote with Charlie. The weather was even better than predicted, but I did get a little bit too warm when I went to visit the Timanfaya National Park and ended up on the volcano grill! The ground is very hot in that area and a barbeque set up over a hole is hot enough to cook chicken (and me).

I also went to the Jameos del Agua caves, created by the outside layer of a lava flow hardening into rock while the molten lava in the middle continues to flow, making a tube. In these caves live a species of blind albino crab, which are otherwise found only very deep in the ocean. You can see me here by a swimming pool that only the King of Spain is allowed to swim in. I don't know if he has, but I think it would be rude if he didn't.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb