I am moving to Valldemossa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
November 1st 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Up early, coffee on the balcony. We (only Ken and I went on this one; others did something else) have an excursion in beautiful Palma de Mallorca, Spain. We took a bus to Valldemossa; a beautiful quaint, very expensive, village on top of a mountain. This is where Michael Douglas has a home and he is almost worshipped here. He donated a lot of money to the church when it needed restoration. It is very clean, narrow cobblestone streets everywhere. I wish I could upload the pictures. We walked through the town, toured a monastery, drank lattes. We walked some more and then we had some wine and wonderful olives; I don't even like olives and I swear these were amazing.
Our group had reservations at a local restaurant. So fun~ I ate things I had no idea what it was. LOTS of red wine. They served us rabbit and I only took a tiny taste~I cannot get past that it could be "Thumper". We had so, so much fun. Laughing, talking to our table guests. I want to live here but need a few millions to get started. I've got to find a way! I'd even clean Michael Douglas's home.
We then went to Deia, a town on the coast; then to Soller another quaint town.
If you ever get a chance to come to Palma de Mallorca, you must!
Back to ship, just time to get dressed for dinner. I'd like to skip it; I'm whipped out from the wine but we must see how our friends day went.
We found out at dinner the prize that Annie and Henna won for best costume was 1 bottle of champagne to share and each got a small, plastic replica of this ship. Unbelievable after the hours of dancing and parading around, giving autographs, pictures, etc. They got a few good laughs about this!
We watched some couples dancing, from a balcony above them; well actually we critiqued them and laughed. This is because no one would be laughing at us, right?
Back to our room. Goodnight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Lunch in ValldemossaLunch in Valldemossa
Lunch in Valldemossa

Lots of good food, good wine, and good laughs
Lunch in ValldemossaLunch in Valldemossa
Lunch in Valldemossa

fun with new friends
Town of DeiaTown of Deia
Town of Deia

Coast of Mallorca


31st March 2010

Valldemossa or bust
Marjie, Enjoyed reading your travelblog and this is a first for me to comment back on any blog!! We too loved Valldemossa even for a short visit during a two week stay on Mallorca(Majorca) in Alcudia. What time of year was your trip? Thanks, Jeff
31st March 2010

Our trip was in October.
9th February 2011

Sorry that I am just responding. Our trip was in October...a beautiful time of year there!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb