I love Moscow :)


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gates to the red squareGates to the red squareGates to the red square

A Tsar nicholas lookalike with russian flag
Again, I'm writing this blog a few months after I was actually in Moscow 😊 But I've got some free time so will try and write as much as I remember!

We arrived in Moscow about 6am, which was 2am british time and even that 4 hour time difference made me feel soooooo tired and spaced out. We arrived in Domodedovo airport and had arranged for our hostel to pick us up at 8 to give us a chance to get breakfast. We ended up not gettnig breakfast but just hanging around. 8am came, then half 8 and we phoned our hostel to find out there was a mix up and they'd forgotten our transfer! I was so tired and harrassed by all the taxi men wanting up to £60 for a transfer. Me and stu talked and decided against the train (because it was rush hour and we had massive suitcases and don't know ANY russian) so eventually found a taxi man who agreed on £30. To be fair Moscow is so big and the traffic so bad it takes about 3 hours to get in to the center from the airport.

We were lucky the man stuck
Sculpture ParkSculpture ParkSculpture Park

Communist sign and lenin statue
with the agreed price because we read that they ask you for more money when at your destination!! We went to our hostel and slept of the minor jetlag before heading out to explore.

Our first visit to the red square area, we walked because we had no idea how to use the metro (we later on used it and it's really easy and cheap!!). It only took us about 20 mins so it wasn't bad! My first impressions of Moscow is that the traffic is CRAZY! all you hear is car horns and angry drivers lol! 😊 The red square was amazing, you never get bored of seeing St. Basils cathedral in the skyline!! Such a beautiful building !! Around the red square is tourist stands and hundreds of other tourists (anywhere in moscow you feel like you're the only tourist) The stands sold things like russian dolls and communist hats (which we have to admit, we bought both haha!!)

While in Moscow we also visited the state museum, lenins Mausoleum (weird!!), gorky park and sculpture park, and much more 😊

I absolutley loved Moscow, I can't give a specific reason why really. I like the
SkyscraperSkyscraperSkyscraper

One of Stalins 7 sisters
randomness of the buildings; old orthodox churches beside massive skyscrapers. I like the fact that I didn't have a clue what to expect. I like how it felt like being a few decades back in some ways! And the people were friendlier than the guide books suggest 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Irn Bru in russian !!Irn Bru in russian !!
Irn Bru in russian !!

I was so happy to find irn bru :)


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb