Happy New Year


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
January 1st 2007
Published: January 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Tree in the SquareChristmas Tree in the SquareChristmas Tree in the Square

Here was the City's Christmas tree that I went to see last night.
The old has gone, the new is here and I am getting way too old to stay out partying all night, particularly with a bunch of Russians that know how to drink, sort of.

As planned, I went up the city's "square" and watched the activities there. It was not as busy as I thought it was going to be and it was mostly teenagers and foreigners. Ha, I know, I fit right in, but believe it or not, I am faired skin like many Russians and there were foreigners from the southern regions like Georgia where they are darker. The DJ was playing some good music and the crowd was dancing, but I am glad I did not go up there until 11:30. It also snowed pretty good last night so everything was white covered.

At midnight, the played the sound of a clock striking midnight, everyone cheered and then started letting off fireworks. These are bigger than what we as the public can buy in the States, but not as big as the professional ones. But the number of them light the sky and with all the concert buildings so closely built, it all echoed off the
People on the SquarePeople on the SquarePeople on the Square

People on the square listening to the DJ and dancing by the Christmas tree.
buildings making them sound very loud. This went on until about 3 AM.

I had gone on to a party I had been invited to where I stayed way too late, but thankfully did not drink too much. I did toast with everyone, but nursed one shot for a long time. (Not what you are suppose to do in Russian, but I did not want to be drunk.) Not able to communicate with most people at the party, I am not sure I would have gotten into the fight or not, but with all of the alcholol, two fights broke out that got pretty ugly. Like most drunk fights, I am sure they passed out and did not remember anything later this morning. Other than the fights, the party went well. I got home after the sun came up so I have been sleeping most of the day. I am getting way too old to do these kinds of things.

Now it is time to start packing my stuff for my ski trip. I leave Thursday morning early, but so I do not have to get up too early and to be able to give Misha the day
People on the Square1People on the Square1People on the Square1

People on the square listening to the DJ and dancing by the Christmas tree.
off since it is Holiday here, I am staying in Moscow on Wednesday night. I probably will not be posting anything before then unless I get the story from Oxanna so again, here is to you and your family for a great 2007!

P.S. The snow was a nice touch last night, but it was 38oF here today so I am sure we set a record high. Most of the snow has melted away.

Advertisement



5th January 2007

Fun
You are having too much fun. I would have like to been at that PARTY. hAVE FUN ON YOUR TRIP.

Tot: 0.399s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0999s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb