Portugal Lisboa Adventure


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Portugal PartyPortugal PartyPortugal Party

Viva Hawaii en Portugal
Hola! Family & Friends

First off I miss you very much inspite of having the time of my life. I´m doing this alittle backwards due to the fact finding wireless in Portugal & Spain has been a challenge, so here I am at the University of Salamanca in the Computer lab 3-4 weeks later.

So here we begin. Lisboa is incredible and a sight to behold. I began my journey in Lisboa at 11pm 19 May 06. I went to every destination on my list of can´t miss things. Sao Jorge Castilla, Belm Tower, monument, monestary, Pasterlia, The Baxia, Alfama, & Barrio Alto regions all close together but cool in their own rights. I took trolleys, buses, trains and used quite abit of shoeleather (mostly uphill on cobblestone streets) good for the gluts! This city is amazing and the people are fantastic I could move here in a minute a quick one! But have no fear parents I´m not! Promise! I kept my travels mostly to daylight hours due to being "with myself". But . . . it doesn´t get dark till 9:30 or 10:00 pm right up my alley being a night owl as you know I am.
Portugal PartyPortugal PartyPortugal Party

Viva Hawaii en Portugal


The homes are close together like S.F. but the aura is completely different. Its the ancient mixed with the historic, mixed with the old, and the new. All streets are cobblestone cool but uneven. There are monuments right in the middle of everywhere and everything! Oh I forgot I also went to a few Cathedrals! The cafes, shopping and in general city is outragous. All stores sell specific things i.e. clothes, shoes, tools, no walmart or Sears Roebuck here! Breakfast cannot be found other than rolls and cafe, (or at least I couldn´t find it), lunch is everywhere and fairly cheap but its the big meal of the day. I eat dinner at about 10:00 suits me to a tee. The food is as amazing as the counry and people. The bread to die for. Now I realize why french bread was so important to Ma. I have had some outragous meals.

Alot of stores close down around 1 or 2 and don´t reopen until late afternoon. During the evening its beautiful even though its full light outside and at dark its even more beautiful. There are people everywhere "walking" go figure! Anyway driving is a luxury
Portugal PartyPortugal PartyPortugal Party

Viva Hawaii en Portugal
and parking is for royality! There are alot of cars but it is crazy driving here I personally wouldn´t and I drove in Japan! Horns are the rule rather than the exception. My hotel is close and the people that work there are very helpful and protective. We are served breakfast in the hotel (I lied above) but it is basically rolls, coffee, juice and cereal. Nice to have coffee though. Yes mom I´m eating! Lots!

Gonna stop for now don´t want to get tooo long! Hehe

Love to all
All my love
With all my heart
For all my life

Suzanne aka Suzzie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb