Spain & Salamanca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Madrid & Sangria : o )Madrid & Sangria : o )Madrid & Sangria : o )

Nuevo Amigos :o)
Hola mi Familia y amigos!

Well where to start hit Madrid on 26 May and met with new friends at a hostel (that was an experience!) Anyway had a great time exploring and going to the Prado Art Museum what a amazing place saw Goya, Velasquez, Rembrandt, and oh darn more I forgot! I fill in the blanks later. Also had a party at the hostel bar having my first Sangria pretty great stuff! We went strolling the streets looking for food and ate at place called Kabobs its shaved meat with salad and potatoes yummy! Then at 3 or 4 am we went out for Churros y chocolate! Their chocolate is like thick pudding heated up hot and you dip your churros in them to get the chocolate out you don´t drink it!

Off on the metro to Salamanca to the next phase of the adventure. Thanks to my new buddies we made it fine even loaded with luggage!!! Met our professors and new Spanish Families mine is a lady who is 68 named Segario she is a sweetheart and very kind to us. She speaks spanish a mile a minute and on a good day I catch
Madrid & Sangria : o )Madrid & Sangria : o )Madrid & Sangria : o )

Nuevo Amigos :o)
every other word! She is patient on a bad day I don´t have a clue what she said for the 20 minutes she was talking!! But we manage. To be clear there is no English spoken at home at all!!! In class there is also not a word of English. Also while shopping or dining out there is no english spoken. So I am in the thick of it I´m managing and improving ever so gently.

Salamanca is a fabulous place to be its beautiful, fairly large, the people are terrific, the food fabulous and the cultural activities excellent! The Plaza Mayor (the meeting place) is the best in Spain even better than Madrid!

My university is pretty cool. Its spread out so we have to hurry from building to building. The professors speak rapidly but are kind and explain till we get it. I love all of my professors there the best! No grumpy ones thank god.

I will continue this as soon as I can I have to go study for my last final. I have much much more to tell you. I love you all very much and although I am having a thrilling
Nuevo Amigos!Nuevo Amigos!Nuevo Amigos!

Churros & Chocolate :o)
time I do miss you very much!

Adios con amor
Suzanne

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb