Residencial florescente


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The West Side Story is playing next door of my hotel. 😊
Anyhow so I woke up at 2pm local time and walked out into the street famished... Primary concern of course was where am I gonna find a restaurant and how am I gonna order? Then right across the street I see "traditional Portuguese cuisine" written in 7 different languages (including Chinese!). Awesome. I sat down and ordered fish soup and suckling pig with a small bottle of wine, and started my meal. I took my sweet time and finished my meal about an hour and a half later. Judging from the other guests in the restaurant, the Portuguese eat at the same speed as I do, which is to say very very slowly. Finally! I no longer have to feel rushed when I eat! I like this place already.
After dinner (or lunch) I walked around the city and got myself hopelessly lost... Twice. But the architecture was so beautiful I really didn't mind. It was like walking through a movie set. When I finally got to look at my map I realized I had covered baixa, bairro alto, chiado, and avenida de liberdade...multiple times infact. It's really not a big city, and every few blocks there is a square with a monument. Like walking through a big town really, no skyscrapers I can see, and not that many people or cars (this is on a weekday too). Overall very relaxed and charming. The light drizzle makes the cobblestone streets sparkle in the night...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb