Mister Maribu and his friends


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Warmian-Masurian » Olsztyn
August 21st 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mister MaribuMister MaribuMister Maribu

in Poland
In the forest 10 km. before Stanica Wodna,
20-07-2001.

It's only 10 more kilometers to Stanica Wodna, an easy 20 minutes with the late afternoon sun slowly sinking in the west but the shape of a huge but strangely formed bird out on this small lake stops me dead on my pedals, my hands gripping the brake handles in a death hold...

It takes me a few precious seconds to get my small binoculars out of my daypack - a prized birthday present from lovely Amanda back in Amsterdam. For a short moment I search the lake's dark blue water before seeing HIM again, surrounded by spoonbills that sift their weirdly shaped beaks through the water hoping for small aquatic life, wading slowly through the water on incredibly long legs, his wings standing slightly up giving him the appaerance of an old bend human male. The halo of grey colored feather around his neck and the featherless wrinkled head with huge beak enhances this impression even further...

An African maribu in a dark green Polish forest...maybe escaped from Warsaw
zoo or else the Berlin Department of Ddetention for Endangered Animals...never heard of migrating maribus really!!!

Still the place is ideal for camping when I distance myself a bit from the main road...maybe I can fish in the lake tonight, the Thai way which is a lure with line rolled and tied around a plastic water bottle. Throw the lure as far as you can across the surface of the lake, wait a few seconds upon contact with water to let the lure sink, tipping the line with your hand softly while rolling it back up your water bottle. Chances are you will roll in a fat pike. Don't let the gory slaughtering spoil your appetite though...

The four cans of German Weissen beer I got this morning from my German biker friends, will wash down the big pike that is right now still swimming around quite happily hunting down newly born roaches and totally unaware of his barbequeing fate tonight over my camp fire, Mister Maribu and his spoonbill buddies perfect subjects for my sketchbook.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb