Indian Enfields in Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Warmian-Masurian » Mikolajki Lake
August 19th 2009
Published: August 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

male personmale personmale person

with beard
Mazurski, Wedland Biosphere, nighttime.

I return from my 20 km. hike through the Masurian Lake District late afternoon, dead tired and hungry like a grizzly after a severe cold and long winter of hibernation. Typical camping life sounds greet me while I struggle to my tent, bend on the bottle of Chilean Red Wine - a luxury I couldn't really affort but surely deserve after my long day alone hiking purposefully through dark green forests.

There is something really magical about trees, let alone a forest full of them and ancient at that - I love to spend my nights under a tree after a long day on my rusty iron lady, enjoying a beer and barbequeing my stupid German Bratwurst over my little fire - don't even like to set up my tent but instead roll out my sleeping bag and doze off...always enjoying a healthy sleep despite the dangers of posible animal atention, the sudden lowering off temperature and the ill effects on an overheated human body warmed up by the relaxing feelings brought about by King Alcohol - wouldn't be the first time waking up with my teeth clattering, the signs of hypertermia in full swing
EnfieldEnfieldEnfield

motorbike
here...

Returning from the shower rooms freshy washed and shampooed and getting supercool interest in My Chilean Red Wine I get inviterd for macaroni and cold German Weissen beer by my neighbors, two German motorbike-enthusiasts with long grey streaked beards, black heavy motor garb and well looked after beer guts. The smell coming out of their small tent ignoring I accept happily asking them about their two Indian manufractured Enfield motorbikes - perfectly maintained bikes reminding me off my six month stint in India, touring the sub-continent on just one of these beauties and totally falling in love with that wonder of English enginering - the Indians just bought the factory when it went bancrupt, took it apart, shipped it to Bombay, put it back together again and then copied the process all over India.

Nothing can beat India on an Enfield motorbike...or the Indian copying abilities for that matter!!!

My new German middle-aged beer loving Enfield friends have done just that and then drove their machines all the way back to München - Maybe I should have done that too..be it to Amsterdam...alas never happened but I can still reminisce with them about India on an
same bikesame bikesame bike

seen from the side
Enfield!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb