Another day on the bike


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Malbork
August 23rd 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

treetreetree

in Poland
Malbork, 21-07-2001.

I sip my coffee slowly while sitting on my sleeping bag in front of my tent watching the early rising of the sun, the darkness of the night slowly surrendering to the first rays of the sun - when you live you life like a solitay vagabond wild camping in the forest trying to survive on a bare-bread budget, it seems easy enough to understand the devotion early mankind had for the sun, even turning this massive hot sphere into a GOD...

Mister Maribu is still out in the lake standing in shallow water on his long black legs which are presently invisible due to the morning forest fog hanging over the lake's surface. His buddies, the water sifting spoonbills are nowhere to be seen, probably left before first sun light in search of better pastures...

Like last night I wonder about his origins, his life story, born and lived on the dry and hot African Velt before ending up in the Berliner Zoo or some other animal prison, mayber escaped the clutches of mankind and now has got to sit it out here in the Great Lake District in Northern Poland...

I leave my sorry friend with his wrinkled featherless head to his lonely excistence loading my stuff on my bike before pushing it through the still dark forest in the direction of the main road. Another day on the bike cycling under an overcast sky that promises the beginning of a rainy day. pine trees at both sides of the road interspersed with small lakes full with waterfowl like ducks, more spoonbills, coots, wild swans and mallards whose load quacking betrays their presence long before I can see them...

When around 15.00 h. in the afternoon the forest slowly gives way to more and more farms, meadows full with cows and small hamlets I know I am reaching my destination, the city of Malbork with its huge Teutonic castle...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

waspswasps
wasps

in Poland


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb