Family Tree


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Sognefjord
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gyda's homeGyda's homeGyda's home

Lovely two story home. Lots of very nice wood and cozy! Pear tree in front and huge strawberry patch out back.
Gyda has corrected me - there are only 275 people in Fresvik and I do believe I am related to most. It's quite funny! Today Reidar introduced me to his parents, Kåre (pronounced Cora) and Ragnhild. Ragnild was a Høgheim...which was changed to Hoium when my Great Grandfather moved to Canada. Ragnild's Father, Peder is my Great Grandfather's brother. You should see the notes and notes and family tree I have taken. It's turned into a family 'forest' instead of just one 'tree'. Reidar's parents do not speak a word of English so that was an interesting visit. There were times when I understood what they were trying to say but the danger of that is then they really launch into Norwegian and lose me again!

Reidar took me up to the Høgheim farm. Farms are very small here and they refer to them like we refer to small towns. So and so is from Bøtun or he is from Høghiem. One is expecting a little town or settlement when in actuality it's a little farm. I found a Christmas card that Great Grandpa Botolv had sent home to Frevik in this little old house that is falling apart. Weird
Olav & Øydis's youngest boysOlav & Øydis's youngest boysOlav & Øydis's youngest boys

Sigbjørn & Dag Einar. They were mowing the lawn at the cemetary. Nice young boys!
feeling that was!

Today has been nice as Gyda and Ingvar are at work and no one is trying to force food into my face at all hours of the day. Wheww.....

Tonight we go to Aslaug's home....don't ask me how she is related to us...but I'm sure I'll find out.

I have attached some more pictures of the area and homes.

PS - please excuse my spelling mistakes. I have read back on the blog entries and spotted a few.....ooops!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Bøtun FarmBøtun Farm
Bøtun Farm

This is where Olav and Øydis live with their 5 children. Although most of their children are grown now
HikingHiking
Hiking

Up the valley
Public WashroomPublic Washroom
Public Washroom

This is the new public washroom at the 'beach'
Reidar & his parentsReidar & his parents
Reidar & his parents

Reidar, Ragnhild & Kåre
Høgheim FarmHøgheim Farm
Høgheim Farm

Reidar and his parents are very ashamed that this house had not been taken care of. In Norway, property is inherited by the oldest child. In this case, the uncle lived away and did nothing with it. It's a shame and they will have to tear the house down.
Another view of HøgheimAnother view of Høgheim
Another view of Høgheim

It sits up on a plateau
Dipping my feetDipping my feet
Dipping my feet

....in the fjord. BURR!
BluebellsBluebells
Bluebells

All kinds of beautiful wild flowers
Olav & his new best friendOlav & his new best friend
Olav & his new best friend

Olav has a new puppy. Border Collie to help heard the sheep out of the mountains. The other dog is getting older and he needed a young one.
The hut & a special rock The hut & a special rock
The hut & a special rock

This is the hut again and a huge mossy rock by the river. Very green!
Mia's daughterMia's daughter
Mia's daughter

This is Anne Marie's daughter, Britt Jorunn and Gyda and Ina, the dog! Britt Jorunn lives in Sogndal and is expecting her first baby.
Marta, Lana & Nann IngunnMarta, Lana & Nann Ingunn
Marta, Lana & Nann Ingunn

Having a visit....and eating...again.


1st September 2008

Lana the Rockstar
With all the attention you are getting, it's like a Rockstar is visiting the village!

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb