Finse - Glacier Day 2


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Hardanger
August 11th 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I didn't have the best nights sleep, but my spirits were cheered as tucked into a very impressive breakfast. After a while i noticed that most people were making themselves a pack lunch from the breakfast buffet to take with them so I did likewise. I also did this for the next 4 days at the hostels I stayed in. It was only when I was talking with someone later on that I was told that you were supposed to pay for the sandwiches at £1.30 a slice - I did feel slightly guilty that I hadn't paid but that soon passed.

I had booked with joklagutane.no to go Glacier walking joklagutane.no which cost 490 NOK, I met the guide at the railway station at 11:00 and we hiked for 1.5 hours to reach the base of the glacier where the 5 in the group put on crampons, harnesses and were attached to the line, I was at the back presumedly cause when everyone in front of me fell down a 30m cravasse I could pull them up!!!

We spent over 3 hours on the glacier and it was great fun, one of the guys even fell down
a cravasse - he only went down about a metre as the guide was on the line next to him and caught him, he would probably have fell down a bit more if he was next to me!!

That night in the dorm I slept next 2 a very attractive young lady who looked exactly like Milla Jovovich (she even spoke like her), I didn't know it at the time but we would end up hiking together with her 2 chums.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb