Finse to Geiteryggshytta then on to Osterbo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Hardanger
August 12th 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The sun had come out for the start of my hike from Finse to the NTA hut - Geiteryggshytta, the distance was 18km but I would have to traverse numerous peaks of between 1300m to 1600m. The path is clearly waymarked with red T's painted on rocks along the way, this didn't stop me taking a few wrong turnings along the way though.

On the way I bumped into Milla again - real name Charlotte and her 2 chums from Belgium, we were doing the same journey so walk together most of the time.

The journey took 8 and a half hours and I was knackered at the end of it, I wasn't sure which hurt most, my shoulders (from carrying my rucksack), or my feet. The Geiteryggshytta had much better dorms than Finse, they had bunk beds and it was half empty so there was loads of room, Finse was packed to the rafters and some people were sleeping on mattresses. The huts will always guarantee you a bed no matter how full they are, but it may be on the floor.

The next day after breakfast and nicking another pack lunch I set off from Geiteryggshytta to Osterbo, this was 21km but did not have the altitude of the previous day, but unfortunately it poured down all day, and I didn't have the best waterproofs so I ended up getting soaked to the skin. The path was a nightmare, most of it was just mud and slippery rocks and I fell on my ass a few times. It took 8 hours to reach Osterbo and I was completely exhausted at the end of it.

I stayed at the touristhytte at Osterbo as it was cheaper and got a room all too myself for 185 NOK, this came in handy as it allowed me to dry out my boots on the radiator through the night.











= NTA site


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Friendly sheepFriendly sheep
Friendly sheep

good to know I always had an option if I got lonely in the night:-)


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb