Exploring Bergen: From Rickety Old Wooden Building to Swanky Apartment in One Day


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
September 6th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Despite of staying up late to conquer the “exotic” washing machine, I somehow managed to still wake up very early. Sleeping in ‘the heart of historical old town building’ sounds like a novelty but I’m not wowed by it. Had it not been the cheapest place I could find – I might as well stayed elsewhere. Bergen is surprisingly cold so I put 3 layers of clothing before venturing out.

Growing up in Indonesia, I’m kinda used to small alleys. Nothing fancy about it. But some guidebooks highlight that the “small alleys of Bergen old town” is something not to be missed. But then the question is – where is that damn small alley? Yes, I’m in the journey to find a small alley that should not be wider than 1 meter. But then again, every corner I go – the path seems wide enough. Finally settle with some nook between 2 houses for photo op and just call it a day.

Revisited the Bryggen quarter & its’ fortress - but unfortunately the weather is still not ideal. The colorful buildings would look much nicer with sunlight hits it’s surface. I took many shots just so that I don’t
Bergen WaterfrontBergen WaterfrontBergen Waterfront

look at that blue sky... ahh.... photoshopped! ha ha ha...
regret it. Based on my readings, professional photographers took lots and lots of shots and it’s fine if only less than 10% is usable. It’s always nice to have lots of options rather than stuck with some blurry pictures after flown so far away. Decided to skip Floibanen because with this kinda weather I doubt I will get good shots either.

Had too much fun taking pictures in the Bergen fish market. I guess I saw too many travel & food magazines where they featured many shots taken in markets. I’m a bit disappointed that I don’t get any offer to try fresh salmon or king crab (only got offered caviars and small shrimps) as my friend S proudly say that she got offered so many times that she’s full and doesn’t have to buy lunch anymore. Gah. Either that’s a lie or I’m super unlucky.

For lunch, bought a seafood platter that looks massive (focus on the word “looks massive” because apparently they just put lots of veggies underneath). It has different sorts of delicacies such as king crab, whale meat (yeah, I know – morally wrong), rock crab, cray fish, etc. Hefty price at 250 NOK. Well, it’s a once-in-a-lifetime kinda thing so I don’t regret spending the money. It’s highly unlikely I will visit Bergen again anytime soon. I’m happy to find sushi place in the corner, because I’ve wanted to try the real Norwegian salmon sushi. The salmon was fresh (although I can’t tell the difference vs my fave sushi restaurant) but the rice was rock solid. Blah…

After that, had a quick detour to Ikea. I’m well aware that Ikea is originated from Sweden and the biggest branch is at Kungens Kurva which is near Stockholm. HOWEVER, there are too many other interesting things to do in Stockholm and my itinerary simply doesn’t fit. The only timeslot I have to visit Ikea is in Bergen – Norway. So I settle with that. The stuffs are indeed cheap compared to prices in Norway (some even cheaper vs Singapore) and they have wider varieties. Good to know that their store chain design is quite consistent from one place to another so I don’t feel so much loss not being able to visit the one in Stockholm. After that, continue with driving to the next town.

Originally the plan was to stay for 2 nights in Bergen. But after reviewing the overall plan again, I decided to take a change and break the journey in Flam. However, as the accommodations in Flam are ridiculously expensive, I opted to stay in Mrykdalen Voss – about 1.5 hours from Flam and a little bit in the middle of nowhere. It’s basically a ski resort that is discounted due to summer time. Saved around 30-40% vs staying in Flam or even in Bergen. Figured location is not a problem since we got a rented car anyway.

I wasn’t expecting much (for God sake, the place asked guest to bring their own linen otherwise they will charge extra!) But when I entered the room – my jaw dropped. Is this really the room! OMG, this is like a freakin service apartment! So swanky with modern amenities (even REAL cable TV with many international channel), it’s own kitchen (electric stoves, oven, dishwasher), and 2 bedrooms for 4 person (one of them is in the attic). So cool! The only thing missing is a washing machine. And linens. And all of this for the price of a dorm hostel in Oslo. This time I definitely made a good choice.

M got so excited that we went downtown to do a little bit of grocery shopping. Then he cooked salmon steak with instant mash and some eggs. I offered to help but he declined. I’m actually used to cooking at home, but figured I’ll just let him be. They say too many cooks in the kitchen is not good.

OK, here’s a little secret. I generally don’t like eggs. I like salmon when it’s raw and fresh – but I hate salmon steak. And I don’t like instant mash as well – I only like it if it’s freshly made. But then again it’s the thought that counts. Out of politeness, I smiled, said thank you, soldiered up, dabbed lots and lots of hot sauce and finished up my plate.

Then M randomly taught me how to play pool, in the hotel lobby. I didn’t know that it’s a game for 2 people – I always thought that pool can be played by like 6-8 people at the same time. That was interesting although I’m not good at it.

My eyes already filled up with tears – not because I’m sad – but because I’m super sleepy. Kinda wish one day I can have a holiday apartment like this. Or even in the city is fine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb