Staying Awake in Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There's little interest in reporting that nothing out of the ordinary happened when one is starting on an adventure, but that's pretty much how today was.

I suppose there were the minor moments of adjusting to being in the northern hemisphere. One that always gets me sooner or later is the difficulty that sun is in the logically correct but otherwise unusual place for an Australian - the south. I made it through the day without it being a problem, more because it was hidden by cloud for most of the time that I was out and about. So I still have that to look forward to.

Another is that people on the street have some not so subtle different behaviours. Oslo drivers seem pretty well behaved, so pedestrian behaviour is almost normal. Except that all the locals want to pass you on their right - a bit like they drive. I did admire one elderly gentleman who appeared to be a tourist from Japan. He was holding out and insisting on passing on the left, and clearly wasn't in any mood to be dissuaded from that.

So once I got into my room, my major objective was staying awake for the afternoon. First I went back down past the central station where I had arrived earlier, and then on to the Akerhus Fortress and Castle. I was lucky enough to be at the gate house about to leave when guard changed in a nice little formal ceremony. Not quite an RSM's delight, but nice enough.

Then it was back for a quick circuit of some other city highlights, which might need to be a separate blog because I am now about to succumb to sleep. Something about my body thinking its 4.00 am on Monday when its only 8.00 pm on Sunday. Cannot understand it, really.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Art Gallery #1Art Gallery #1
Art Gallery #1

I think this is of the Dovrefjell. If not, it is still magnificent.


25th June 2012

Oslo
Good to hear that you've made it safely and by now, you will have adjusted to local time and sun orientation. I hope you have good weather to help you on your way - but regardless it will be a great experience. Looking forward to further accounts and some pics if possible, please.
30th June 2012

Found.
Just found your blog, linked from your last partial Facebook entry. Thanks for sharing, and have fun mate.

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb