Farewell Amsterdam!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 14th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What fun this has been so far!
After getting some much needed sleep (in the hotel room) I got out for a bit. I went to a cafe, took the tram to Dam Square and purchased a ticket for the night time canal tour. I had dinner outside in a cute restaurant with traditional Holland fare. I ate poached salmon with gouda cheese sauce, served with some sort of saurkraut vegetable thing and steamed asparagus. The night tour was beautiful, and although I was out late, I felt very safe! There are so many people out & about that I was never really alone...it's like NYC in that way.

I have met many solo travellers here (all women) and most of them around mum's age....so I fit in just fine! I slept well last night, and don't feel like I have any jet-lag. I woke up around 8:30 (in time for the hotel breakfast) and walked around the block to the hotel that I am meeting my shuttle at in the morning. I took the tram back to central station and hopped on a tour bus. They took us to a diamond factory (which was a tour I was hoping to get to do to the great advice from some of my senior friends). Since seeing the movie "Blood Diamond" it made me feel a bit guilty when they said that all of their diamonds come from South Africa! After the tour I got on another canal boat, and toured around again. Amsterdam is beautiful and I can't wait to show you my pictures.

After lunch I walked to Anne Frank Haus. It's a fantastic museum! It is in the house where she actually hid during the war. They even have the actual diary that she wrote in.

This little trip has been a great distraction....unfortunately I am starting to feel the nerves again when I consider that this time tomorrow I will be in Tanzania. I re packed my bags and double checked my packing list. I think I'm ready to go! Started my malaria pills and have checked into the airline for my flight tomorrow. It's almost 10pm now...so I should get some sleep...waking up at 5:30am.

Tomorrow I meet my team mates!! Can't wait!

Advertisement



14th September 2009

my brave buddy!
you are such a great travellor! Hopping on trams and eating out...my goodness...what was I so nervous about...you're doing just fine! it's a good sign for the rest of the trip! Thinking about you all the time, so glad things are off to a great start! I admire your strength miss chris! lots of love! P and LD
14th September 2009

Good Stuff!
Happy to read about your experiences, never been to Amsterdam. Safe journey to Africa!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb