Cetinje: Day 23 to 25


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro
June 30th 2023
Published: July 5th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Cetinje Cetinje Cetinje

Quantity town, lovely streets of Cetinje
I headed to Cetinje, which is the old capital of Montenegro.

No one I had met had been there nor was planning to, so I knew this will be much less touristy.

And the city didn't fail to impress. A small, quaint town with beautiful streets, locals coming out to hang out in the public squares in the evening, it was perfect for me after Budva.

After exploring the city the first day, I headed to the Lovcen National Park the next day.

The name Montenegro and the local name Crna Gora, both mean Black Mountain. And it's inspired by Mount Lovcen which seems black when it's forested.

While most people come to Lovcen National Park to see the Njegos mausoleum, I decided to do the Wolf Trail and Babina Glava peak.

I started early morning and loved hiking the trail, which was completely bereft of people. The scenery, the wildflowers, the quietness, the fresh air, it was all magical.

Right at Babina Glava, at an altitude of nearly 1,500 meters, the lightning and thunder started. As I headed down, I was drenched to the bones (hadn't carried any rain gear) and freezing. But
Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park

Beech Pines (I think) on Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park
the scenery continued to be stunning, even though it was cloudy and I did stop many times over in the rain to enjoy the experience.

That day and early part of the next day, it continued to rain heavily, so I spent a quiet day back at my hotel, in the warmth.

Lovcen National Park was an absolute beauty, the Wolf Trail was one of the prettiest hikes I have ever done. I am glad I went there, sometimes in travel, you just got to follow your instinct.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park
Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park

Wildflowers galore on the trail
Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park
Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park

Wolf Trail, Lovcen National Park
Flowers LovcenFlowers Lovcen
Flowers Lovcen

Flowers of Lovcen National Park


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb