Day trip to Pisa!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
September 12th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"So what did you do today?"
"Oh I just hung around the leaning tower of Pisa for the day."

Who says that?!

Because that's what I did for the day =)

Today, I went to Pisa. It was pretty cool. You always hear about the tower, and everyone knows what it is, but who actually goes there? This morning, I woke up pretty early to catch a train to Pisa. Unfortunately, my group and I thought that the trains to Pisa were running a little more frequently than it actually was, but we got there at about 1:30. We went to the bathroom over there and they made us pay to use the bathroom and it was weird! the guy collecting money was like,"I'll take anything" and I happened to laugh and he was like,"ok, that counts." So at least I didn't have to pay.

Then we had to find the tourists office. Talk about standing out. We had our maps out in front of us, big group of people and crossing streets at funny times. It was a lot of fun being with the girls on our first journey though.

On the way to the leaning tower, we stopped off at a cafe to grab a snack and then I used the bathroom over there and to use the sink, there was a foot pedal to turn it on! I was so excited, I've only seen like one of those before today. Anywho, back on our trek to the tower!

Once we got there, we decided to do the whole touristy thing and take pictures pushing the tower and making it look like we were holding it up or it was falling on top of us. It was cheesy, but if you're there, you just gotta do it.

Overall, Pisa was definitely just a day trip type of thing. You really only need a few hours to do everything there and we did pretty much everything (except actually walk up the tower). The most impressive part about the place was the Duomo. It was incredible in there. At the same time though, I feel like if I didn't take my art history class, I definitely wouldn't have appreciated everything that I saw. The ambiance in the Duomo was pretty surreal. I actually experienced that calming enlightening feeling when I was standing inside. The paintings inside were beautiful and plus it helped that I ended up following this little tour around the Duomo so I had a little history class as well.

After that we covered the cemetery and this fresco building and the Opera del Duomo museum. When we finally had enough and our feet hurt and our stomachs growled, we got food. I had pizza and it was awesome. I could eat that so often, it's kind of silly, Anyway, when we returned to the train station, I took my first bus ride. At this point, we were all exhausted and I know I felt like I could pass out right then and ther. When we got to the train station and got on the train, I was definitely ready to pass out, and so I did for awhile. Woke up when we got to the Santa Maria Novella train station we got off and walked back home. Naturally on the way back, Maxann and I got our daily gelatto. yum.

I finished up the night watching Love Actually and doing a little work for my Florence Sketchbook class. I can't wait to start working in these studio classes. Professor
Pisa!Pisa!Pisa!

Look! We made it
Baldini definitely has a more rigid and seemingly productive syllabus. Anyway, it's late, so that'll be all for tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Pisa buildingsPisa buildings
Pisa buildings

not that they look all that different than the ones here in florence
the Arno! the Arno!
the Arno!

we could've just walked all the way to Pisa
this is the dcoration that I was talking aboutthis is the dcoration that I was talking about
this is the dcoration that I was talking about

what's cool is that it's made of wood
The DuomoThe Duomo
The Duomo

this was actually way more impressive than the tower


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb