Beautiful Sardinia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia » Alghero
January 30th 2006
Published: October 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was supposed to be going with Marie-Car to Sardinia but unfortunately she wasn't well and after a lot of debating, decided I should go! As soon as I landed at the airport, I felt a bit odd being on my own, not travelling alone before, especially a place I knew nothing about apart from it being beautiful. It took a while to figure out which bus I was getting into town because everything was in Italian! No English guides, so it was me asking a lot of people for directions! I luckily found a guy standing at a bus stop with a guide book in his hand. He to was clueless, but then Zak (from New Zealand) came along who could speak and understand a little Italian and it went good from there!!! I found out he was travelling on his own too and that it was his first time in Sardinia. Then 2 girls came over, Alex & Denanthi (both Australians) and they too were a bit lost. We decided after a while that we were all gonna stick together thoughout our trip.

Alex and Denanthi already had a room that night and the guy they were staying with offered to help me and Zak find a place to stay for the night! When we did we were very happy with the place we stayed at because it was nice, cosy and cheap!!! The lady who ran it couldn't speak a word of English, but Zak was on hand to translate and communicate!

The next day we met up with the girls and we all went to the airport to hire a car to drive around the coast!!! It took a while, but we had fun at the airport! When we finally got the car, we started on our journey. The scenery was absolutely amazing and the weather was nice also! The sea was lovely and turquoise. A friend at work told me about how busy it got in the summer and I completely understand why!!!

At the end of the day we stayed at the same place from the night before with the girls. We all got up fairly early and started driving around again till late afternoon which is when Zak and I had to catch our flight back home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb