Misadventures In Italy...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Ivrea
June 17th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ciao!!

Well I've been living here for 6 weeks now and this week has been full of fun! Been out the last four nights till late meeting Italian people, including a couple from Milan, luckily everyone speaks English because my Italian doesn't seem to be going anyway fast.

Speaking of Italian, I started private lessons at a new school this week which is good, been learning the alphabet! I have ten hours with this new teacher, focussing on conversational italian so I can have the confidence to speak to people when out shopping or in a bar, for example. Really want to increase my vocabulary as well, so the plan starting tomorrow is to everyday read through my Italian dictionary (I'm so cool, I know!) and learn some new words.

Many of you might already know that for the last 3 and 1/2 weeks I've been dating an Italian guy, I don't want to go into too many details at the moment because it is still early days, but it seems to be going well. Today we went to Forte di Bard (see photo) to see a Marilyn Monroe photography exhibition and yesterday we went to the lake on his Vespa. I'm not going to lie it was pretty scary, the worst bit was going round bends and down hill, but I made sure I wore a helmet because it's all about using protection!

Finally the weather is getting hotter here so been hanging out at the lake a lot this week trying to get some semblance of a tan, which has resulted in one very burnt leg (yes only one, I'm very baffled). Not been into the lake itself yet, as I'm a bit scared and I've been told there are little fish swimming in it! Argh!

Also this week I went to the open air theatre in the centre again to see The Jungle Book, most bizarre show I've ever seen, felt like I was on one massive acid trip the whole time I was watching it with all the weird costumes.

That pretty much concludes my 6th week here, booked my flights back to Fundon on the 5th August so I'll see you all then.

Arrivederci!




Soph




XxX



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb