Le Grotte Di Frasassi, Sirolo and Loreto


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Sirolo

The Bells of Loreto
So, we went to Le Grotte di Frasassi oggi; it was basically like every other cave I have gone down into, but nonetheless, it was interesting and neat: one thing I never thought I would do while I was in Italy. Afterwards, we went to lunch close to the caves, where I got to spend a lot of time talking to our busdriver, GianCarlo. Absolutely, he was one of my favorite people on this trip. After lunch, we went to the town of Sirolo: my FAVORITE town that we visited on this trip. It was on the coast (that scenery you can see in the background of the pictures of us in the Adriatic -- that is where this town is). Maybe it was just the beautiful weather, the great shops, and the beautiful purple flowers everywhere that made me like this town, but I just know I loved it. I was able to just walk around and enjoy it. In this town, I did most of my shopping. I bought a lot of ceramic items [my pride and joy being a gnocchi board, which I've already used. I can now say that it is my best investment to date 😊 ] as well as some other random stuff. From here, we went to Loreto: "The house of Mary." This city was home to my FAVORITE church I have yet to see. No pictures inside, but I got a few of the outside. It was a nice place that I'd recommend anyone to visit. There was something about the church. In the middle of it, was a special room that is claimed to be the Mary's resting place, I believe. I need to reread some stuff to get that story right, but I can't find the papers right now -- so update later! After this, Adriana, Rosemary and I made a quick trip to the Adriatic before a late dinner, and we relaxed that night at the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb