Università di Macerata


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche
June 4th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We drove down to Macerata, where a pretty awesome university resides. We first toured the University (that is after we found our 6 lost companions -- of course, getting lost on the random elevators that take you higher up in the city). I can't even imagine going to a university such as that. I could be nothing but inspired in these classrooms -- completely surrounded by breath-taking artwork. Reference the pictures -- the tour-guide told me to lock up the Aula Magna -- the picture shows the key to that room. I absolutely loved this University. We then toured Lo Sferisterio, which is now used as a place for opere and music concerts. more info: Sferisterio. I believe it used to be a place where they would play a version of some sort of handball. After that, we made way to the Teatro Lauro Rossi -- coolest thing was the completely flat ceiling, that was painted to look differently. Then -- the best part: the wine tasting! We walked to a enoteca, which is in these what are now tunnels. I think the town was built up on these old streets, so now they are tunnels. The area is used now
Aula MagnaAula MagnaAula Magna

a rather neat classroom
as a public space, and while we were there, there was a children's art display. These tunnels are also filled with ovens where people used to bake their bread. At the wine tasting, we had a bunch of snacks of pieces of bread with different cured meats mmm delizioso! After this wine tasting, we had free time to explore the city, but by that point it had started to rain (of course) and all the shops were closed. So we asked around and eventually made it to a little pizza place and bakery. I did, however, buy a LOT of stuff at this lil' shop that sold magazines, newspapers and other random touristy things. I probably spent the most money there. I think I went back in 3 times :D the best part: POCKET COFFEE! It is liquid espresso, surrounded by crushed espresso beans, covered in chocolate. mmmm, I wish they were sold here. probably better that it isn't. After we were done in Macerata, we went to two different shoe factories: FABI and Eurosuoles. They were memorable, to say the least. I enjoyed myself, but I'm not sure if everyone else did. After getting back to the hotel, and
Francesca with a FrescoFrancesca with a FrescoFrancesca with a Fresco

Montana amidst the fresco of this classroom -- inspirational, no?
having dinner, we walked into town to a cafe and had a good time, marking the end of that day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

the Keythe Key
the Key

the coolest key I've ever acutally locked something up with
Aula C. MortatiAula C. Mortati
Aula C. Mortati

di nuovo...
Fake StepsFake Steps
Fake Steps

these things were awesome. they aren't really steps, they are just raised pieces of brick, keeping you from falling down and making an idiot of yourself. genius!
LadiesLadies
Ladies

at the Sferisterio
Flat Ceiling? Flat Ceiling?
Flat Ceiling?

...I know so!!!
EnotecaEnoteca
Enoteca

for the winetasting
I ForniI Forni
I Forni

the ovens of these tunnels
Children's ArtChildren's Art
Children's Art

My favorite piece
Pizza! Pizza!
Pizza!

1 euro a slice... mm!
FABI FABI
FABI

FABI shoes seem FABUlous!
Baci di MezzanotteBaci di Mezzanotte
Baci di Mezzanotte

the barrista at the Cafe in town made this for us


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb