Weather, ubruptly.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Bergamo
April 1st 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Blog:

This blog will follow the general form of all my blogs in the sense that it won't really have a for. If any of you find this annoying, please tell me and I will do my best to remedy it. I just find that the things I have to say rarely have a common thread with which I can sew them together.
The risk of snow has left us for the certainty of rain. Tuesday evening brought the sort of spectacular storm that we just don't have in Mendocino. The abruptness and violence with which it came and left reminded me strongly of Georgia. I was enthralled by the deep, loud bangs of thunder and the bright blue flashes that preceded them. Looking out the large windows of the house I thought it looked as though there were invisible people with buckets, throwing the water sideways in front of where I stood. I love storms like this and was rather disappointed when the clouds cleared a mere 15 minutes later, just in time to reveal a pale sky, the washed out blush of sunset just receding. However I was quickly revived from this momentary mourning when my host sister told me, roughly translated, "That was nothing, there will be lots more, and bigger too." I can hardly wait!
Another difference about spring here and spring in Mendocino is that it is far more dramatic. You notice the change everywhere as everything brown turns that magical fresh green and yellow flowers seem to race to bloom, just beating the purples in number. Daffodils bend bright heads to look at the narcissus and flowers I have only seen in pots in stores before volunteer in the emerald grass. There are easter flowers (at least I think thats how you call those sort of round bottle brush style flowers that smell amazing) in pink purple and white, springing forth from there bulbs in enthusiasm for the watery sun. The air is cool and fresh and the clearest it has been since my arrival, constantly cleansed by the sporadic showers. The bright early mornings are filled with a wide variety of bird songs, creating a whistled orchestra, delicate and perky.
One of many interesting effects on the memory that comes from being in another country for a long period of time has recently presented itself to me out of nowhere. This effect is that of totally forgetting the existence of certain things, like fruit salad, or school buses. The other day I ate a chip and as I crunched down a hint of some very familiar flavor sprang into my mind.... what was it? Bacon! I had completely forgotten that classic breakfast pork! This sort of revelation has become more frequent lately and one of the explanations I find likely is that I have forgotten more little details of american life than I had a few months ago. These little mind blasts make it obvious how strange it will be to go home, how many things around me will jump out in ways they didn't before because of how long I have gone without being reminded of their existence. I can't say I'm not extremely curious about what it will be like...
Last sunday was a part of the weekend long celebration of Giulia's 18th birthday. Our little group of friends had a delicious brunch in the old upper city and spent the rest of the morning in the pravate gardens of the restraunt, which are situated atop the walls next to one of the gate. The main bulk of the walls are more like retaining walls, like a belt around a little hill, but these are two story free standing walls, and the sunny late morning was spent lazily talking and admiring the large pansy patch. We then moved on to get almond milk popsicles and sit on the little walls surrounding an old castle-like embattlement, soaking up the sun and staring out over the city and mountains far in the distance(which you can't see in winter or hazy days). We talked for hours before ambling to Giulia's house to sit in the incredible garden and jump on the trampoleen. The magical thing about a trampoleen is its power to transform people into little children again. By this time in the day our group was down to Giulia, me, and two of out guy friends. Both of these 18 year old boys are tall and well built, making it a very immpressive thing to see them fly through the air, wolfish grins spread from ear to ear as the jump about, awkwardly trying not to hit each other. It created a sort of innocent joy that filled the air and yet seemed a little ridiculous at the same time. I mentioned this to Giulia and she agreed immediately, telling me of another very similar event with the sort of "cool guys" that would normally never show such blatant joy. It was a fantastic day of sunny laughter that I don't think I will easily forget.
Photos of the house and family are coming soon I swear!

Advertisement



6th April 2010

how the memory works
Interesting as always Julia. Thank you. Sure can't wait for the pictures.
20th April 2010

almond milk popsicles
I read your whole post, but what jumps out to me? Almond milk popsicles! Yummmmmeeeee! Wish I could have one. With you. Love, Patti

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb