Music, "art", mosquito bites, and more food.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Bergamo
September 28th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So! I just finished a dinner (and desert) created by Christina's host mother. I say created because it was a masterpiece. First was long-ways slices of eggplant, must have been baked, with parmesan cheese and tomatoes between. It sounds simple but man was it incredible. Then second was a sort of torte/keish. It ad a hand mad crust and cover that my host mom explained was called "Pasta Brisa", a french name. It differs from the crust of a sweet torte (called "Pasta Frolla") because it has no eggs or anything but butter, flour, and a little milk. It was filled with a keish sort of thing, made with eggs, cheese, zucchini, and a little lemon; absolutely fantastic. Then, for desert, there was a torte with homemade crust and homemade fig jam inside, along with chopped pecans, so it was like a fig pecan pie with truly delicious crust strips criss-crossing the top. MMMMMmmmm.
I havn't mentioned it before, but my family, particularly the two younger boys, are very musically inclined. Lilo (the youngest) is learning to play the violin, and is also very good with a recorder, whistling, drumming the table, an odd sort of beat boxing, etc., and Tommy (second oldest) plays the piano INCREDIBLY. It's pretty amazing, and tonight he taught me how to play frère jacques! I have gottan quit good at it if i do say so myself, though its almost as easy as "In the Jungle" (the mighty jungle, a lion sleeps TOnight...).
Last Sunday, so yesterday, I took a trian to Lecco to meet up with a fellow American exchange student there. Lecco, for those who don't already know like I didn't, is on lake Como, and surrounded by majestic mountains and cliffs. Its very beauticul, and much smaller in feeling (and i think also in actuality) than Bergamo. It is definitely more of a tourist town, and thus it has more pedestrian only streets. We walked all over, having a drink at a cafè, then getting prosciutto panini from a stand. It was a lovely day.
I have realized that there are two things I don't have the willpower to resist: first, scratching mosquito bites! it's impossible, even if a manage in the day, the second I begin to drift off to sleep a absentmindedly itch like crazy. Luckily that was remedied by cutting off my nails completely, my second problem is far more complicated. I can't help but eat everything in front of me! Not to mention eat stuff I have to go out of my was to get. No solution there other than to compensate with more exercise I suppose. The food is just too amazing.
School is a much different experience for me now. I explain this with three main differences, 1) Im in Italy, 2) It's a giant school, 3) I dont understand a word of the lesson. As a result of my non-comprehension, I am blossoming as an artist, sort of. You can only pay attention and try to make sense out of a foreign language for so long, and that amount of time is alot less than 6 hours. This means I have the remaining time to space out, or, most commonly, doodle, on EVERYTHING. My school binder has more little scribblings than words.
I'm about to go catch a bus up to Citta Alta, where my volleyball practice is. Not because i have to go now, in fact, volleyball doesn't start for another hour, but because there is a cafe near the bus stop with award winning stracciatella gelato.


Advertisement



30th September 2009

Yummy
The food is so good there. Thanks for the recipes, keep them coming.....I was in Lecco two years ago. I traveled Italy for a month. This is fun for me to read your blog. Lots of Love and try to learn the language. I don't remember Citta Alta, but I do remember the great gelato....
5th October 2009

Can't wait for photos Julia. Do not resist the food. You can't possibly get fat on something that tastes really good.
6th October 2009

fig pie!
Oh my god, that sounds so good! And my latest fantasy for the Art Farm just happens to be planting a fig orchard. We are going to plant trees over Thanksgiving weekend. Be sure to get that recipe for fig/pecan pie. Please!
16th October 2009

:D
haha, i can tell when you're trying to type everything you're thinking at once cuz u leave out letters :) love youuuu and love the blog <3

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb