Culture shock!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Bergamo
September 7th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day here in Italy, it was amazing. I had serious doubts about how enjoyable this year would be after staggering off the plane and collapsing into bed somewhat of an emotional mess, exhausted and in shock. Those doubts have now fled back to whatever dark corner of my brain that opens its doors when I get tired. I had the most amazing time out with Pietro and his VERY nice and very pretty girlfriend and many of their friends, I realize now that Cafe hopping is the Italian/European past time for high school students, I have never seen so many people my age hanging out in one place, let alone three different cafes! Everyone seems to know everyone, despite the daunting (to me) number of people. while i slept only until two in the morning last night, and I know I'm tired from the extremely pronounced circles under my eyes, i still can't wait to go out again after a dinner of some kind of delicious smelling meat spread with a salsa like thing. Oh! and today for "pranzo", lunch, I had the most delicious lasagna in the world, made by my host moms mother.
Everyone speaks some English, one girl, Gulia (pronounced similar to Julia, but there is some subtle difference that seems obvious to them that I cannot grasp for the life of me) speaks almost perfect English and is helping me learn a TON! Everyone is more than willing to help me with my Italian in return for help with their English homework, and I am more than happy to oblige. At first I thought it would be really bad that everyone spoke English, but after today I can't imagine that is the case, my head is bursting with Italian, and i actually feel like I am learning.
I know this initial high off of the newness off it all will wear off eventually, and then i suppose I will be more bothered by the fact that I stink of cigarettes (almost everyone here smokes, a lot) and sweat, but for now I hardly notice.
I have been told that my school has 1,300 students and 50 teachers... ONE THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED!!! That's ONE THOUSAND more than I am used to, it promises to be very interesting. I hope it's not too overwhelming, but I'll deal with that when it happens.
I have to go to dinner now, but I will write again next week, maybe sooner if something extremely worthy of note happens. Love you all!
-Julia

P.S. Italian couples give a whole new meaning to P.D.A., I don't think I have seen as much snogging in a year as I witnessed today. ahah, its actually kind of refreshing that they are so comfortable and happy together, anyways, the cultural differences are innumerable, and all fascinating, this one just came to mind as interesting. Much love!

Advertisement



9th September 2009

I am so proud of you and wish I was there!! Be carefull and have lots of fun. I love you! Marie
9th September 2009

re. Culture Shock
Ah, you are off and running! Before you know it you will be dreaming in Italian. XO, Devon
11th September 2009

can't wait for next entry!
Julia, You are on a trip of a lifetime me thinks! Enjoy every minute and keep us informed (as much as you care to of course). Except for the smoking environment, I wish I could have stole away in your suitcase! Take good care...I await your next entry! Barb Prichard
14th September 2009

Yay, you made it!
Sounds like you are off to a good start Julia! Keep including foodie comments in your blog :) Soon you will be dreaming in Italian... that is actually a good sign in learning a new language... keep having fun. Love, Annjam
14th September 2009

That is so well put Julia. What a great beginning. Can't wait to see some photos. Dad.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb