Trying for a recovery


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We've been sick all week with head colds. Beth's was less intense than mine. I don't get sick often, but when I do - it's a doozy. To make matters worse, we are unable to get substitutes and call in sick. Our school organization is getting its moneys worth out of us and then some...or should I say 75 cents on the dollar. The dollar is getting smacked around by the euro like a red-headed stepchild. Anyway it was a brutal week and we needed a fine night out on the town.
So we hauled the school secretary out with us again and headed to what is reputed to be an "upscale" ristorante. Well, I think I'll not mince words and go for the jugular right off the bat. It was overrated and overpriced. Its one saving grace was that no music of any kind was blaring in the dining area. That was good because I am still somewhat congested and have at least one raw nerve that the world insists on tap dancing on.

the name of this place is La Corniche. It is located in a prime spot right on the wharf overlooking the bay. We sat at one of the tables on the second floor that had a nice view. It had some really cool light fixtures, only I would suggest that they tone down the light. In fact, virtually every restaurant we've been to insists on have glaring lights. I'm all about soft lights, soothing colors, and muted decor that is relaxing instead of jarring. The help was prompt and courteous and the waiter was gracious enough to laugh at one of my witticisms - it was witty (in Italian no less).

The waiter did recommend a very nice prosecco (Prosecco di Valdobiadene) to start with. We ordered 2 antipasti dishes. One was ahi made from fresh tuna. It was ok, the temperature was not hot enough to sear the sides well. I was tempted to tell the waiter what I thought and offer my advice on searing tuna, decided to let it pass. The second dish was oysters on the half shell only they were baked with a light breading of polenta and it had a spicy kick to it. That was pretty tasty and it set my temperature up a notch or two. Which then needed cold prosecco to cool off, I thought that worked well.

The primi was "spaghetti alla chitarra". This refers to the square cut of the noodle and "chitarra" is a guitar. Yeah...I see the connection too! This came with clams and was tasty, unfortunately I've had better at a place that I have not had an opportunity to write about. The secondi was a full sized fish (spigola) that was grilled. I didn't look it up to see what it was but I think it may be some kind of sturgeon? Its flesh was firm and not at all fishy. It was moist and meaty. I didn't think that I would be able to finish it, but I'm one of those folks that unless I'm nauseaous I can polish off just about anything.

We finished off the evening with a cold gelato topped with fresh fruit that was quite good. Overall I would only give this place 3 out of 4 stars. It is trying to be a nouvelle cuisine kind of place and it just needs some nouvelle thinking. We paid 50 euro each and I expect to be wowed for that price. Would I come back? Only if someone was buying.

Today at our staff meeting I learned that there is a very cool enoteca in a little town (San Vito) close by. Headed there this next Sat to check it out. I'm sure that you will be waiting with baited breath to read that review.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb