Thar She Blows


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This past Tuesday and Wednesday I had the opportunity to ride through my first hurricane! I spent my entire life in the US watching the annual hurricane seasons come and go, never getting closer than my tv. Well the winds howled and I saw for the first time rain that matched the description "the rain came down in buckets." The weather forecast was for rain and unsettled weather for most of the week. Instead, on late Tuesday it began to crash and thunder and blow. On Wednesday morning we had school and during the day the wind and rain really ripped loose. We stayed in naturally and by the end of the day the wind had died down but there were tree branches laying everywhere. When we left the school we saw entire trees had been blown down. As we drove home, we saw more of the same.
My only reaction at the time was "Well now that was some thunderstorm." My class kept saying that it sure was blowing hard and I kept insisting that it was just a severe storm. This morning our administrator told us that the storm had been classified as a hurricane. Wellllll ...how 'bout that. Sorry, no photos to share as I thought it was a mere thunderstorm :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb