The Farewell Tour - Pt I


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
July 25th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

During a recent conversation with friends, it was mentioned that I would probably add a few lbs while living in Italy. This unfortunately has already occurred. My schedule has become very erratic these last three months and I have strayed from my normal eating habits. I am also deep into The Farewell Tour. Much like Cher, there doesn’t appear to be an end to farewell appearances. Each appearance marked by overindulgence in very excellent food & wine.
Just this past Friday evening, I had dinner with my daughter and son-in-law. We met at The Cottonwood Grille (Boise, Idaho by the way) for a pre-farewell. I’ve never fully grasped the meaning of the expression, “parting is such sweet sorrow,” until now. My daughter is expecting her first child, my first grandchild. She is due right about the time of our departure. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for an early delivery. It is hard to put such a distance between my daughter and me. Parting with loved ones is indeed a sweet sorrow. We will of course have last minute farewells to prolong the pain.
Dinner at the Cottonwood Grille was excellent. This place has an excellent riverside location. Dining al fresco is generally a swell way to enjoy dinner and the ambience, unfortunately the heat was too much to consider sitting outside. The food was excellent, although not necessarily outstanding. My elk sirloin was tasty although a bit chewy, the potatoes ordinary, as were the green beans. The zinfandel we had (can’t remember the name) and the squash were quite good. I would have preferred a bit more squash and less potato. I also would have given the green beans a quick sauté in olive oil with a dusting of pepper.
Elizabeth (my wife) did note that the portions had become bigger since our last visit there. That is never a good sign. I could to a Freakanomics assessment for the reasons their portions have become bigger, but I’ll simply observe that their clientele appears to have become more of the “more is better crowd.”


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb