Ring of Kerry 24Aug


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
August 24th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Iveragh PeninsulaIveragh PeninsulaIveragh Peninsula

Ballaghbema Gap
Had a wonderful sleep and even better breakfast. This morning I ordered the traditional Irish breakfast. The black pudding was excellent. Left Rivermount House at 9am and headed along the coast, stopping at each town along the way.

I avoided the beara peninsula and made it to Kenmare, which is just south of the Ring of Kerry. This is about a 180km loop around the Iveragh Peninsula. I ascended to a lookout point and stopped for some photos. I have been stopping quite often to take pictures of the changing landscape. If I keep this up all day then I will not get to my destination.

I went over a Pass at the top of the Beara Peninsula, which is not listed on the map in front of me. It started with B. This was impressive, especially when you went through tunnels carved from the rock, with water dripping from the ceiling. I got a few photos (after passing through the tunnel). The hills and valleys are beautiful. Quite a stark contrast from the recent landscape i have seen.

Instead of doing the ring, I decided to take the advice of people I had met, and cross the
Iveragh PeninsulaIveragh PeninsulaIveragh Peninsula

Ballaghbema Gap
middle of the peninsula instead. After spending a bit of time on the southern coast, I headed across the Ballghbeama Gap (some signs said Pass not Gap, so not sure). This was simply spectacular. The road was rediculously narrow, barely any edge of the road preventing you from driving over board. Absolutely no room to pass for most of the trip. No one in their right mind would drive along here. for the 30km trip i saw one other car (thank goodness).

There were black faced sheep to keep me company. These are amazing. They will not move for you to drive by. They walk up hills and on the road eating grass. The ones on the road are eating the grass on the side of the road, with their rear end on the road. I almost had to get out and pick them up to get them to move. Beeping the horn had no effect. But i didnt get out, there was no way i was trusting the hand brake on these hills. First gear even struggled at some point. So there i was, beeping at the black sheep, one hand out the window taking photos, the other
Iveragh PeninsulaIveragh PeninsulaIveragh Peninsula

Spot the sheep
hand changing gears and steering. Fantastic.

The scenery was just amazing. I stopped at the top and took photos each way, and some of the sheep.

I finished up at Killorglin and had to pull over for a rest, it was all too stunning. Another 20km to Killarney and checked into the B&B. Went to Muckross House and walked the gardens for an hour or so, then back into town.

Another incredible day.



Advertisement



24th August 2009

Australians and their jumbucks
We know what you Australians are like with popping a few of those jumbucks in your backpacks (or was that tucker bags). Thank God you are not a New Zealander!!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb