Made it to Dublin!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
June 14th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ready to go!Ready to go!Ready to go!

My backpack for the trip
I've finally settled into Dublin a bit where I can now sit down and post on here! After a long and tiring day of flights and booking it to my connecting flight (it came in late, still had to get thru security), Sasha excitedly greeted me at the gates in the airport! It's so nice to finally see each other again! We headed straight back to the hostel - Barnacles, which is located right next to the Temple Bar. Really nice place - beds are super comfy, tho a bit hard, but I was definitely warm enough. We had a couple from Toronto, as well as a guy Phillip from Brazil, and Sandy (guy) from Brisbane, and another guy from Canada.

I'm really liking the atmosphere here in Dublin; friendly, local music blaring from each pub, and the occasional drunken idiot rambling on about nonsense. Dublin really is everything that I imagined it to be, with the old architecture and cobblestone streets, and just the whole vibe of the place really takes you back in time.

I'm definitely looking forward to heading south and seeing some of the countryside! I think we're going to go horseback riding on the
Graffiti ArtGraffiti ArtGraffiti Art

Found this down a random alley, silly poses were included in other shots
beach, as well as see Dingle peninsula, the Cliffs of Moher, and Galway, Dun Laoghaire, Wiklow, Cork, etc. I think we're then going to plan on taking the ferry over to London and spend a couple days there.

Today has been a day of errands and sorting future plans out so not a lot to share so far. We're planning on going to check out the Book of Kells, Trinity College, the Guinness factory, and a few nice parks. Weather was horrible - pouring rain yesterday, but so far it's nice today. I'm realizing I packed thinking everywhere it was going to be summer, with only about 1 t shirt and 1 long sleeved shirt - not counting a sweatshirt and windbreaker. Also, my nice sparkly flats are already dying. All of the walking/standing/waiting just through the airport really did them in. May have to buy regular tennis shoes if the wet weather keeps up seeing how I have flip flops or water type shoes (tennis shoes covered in holes).

Will post more pictures when I find a comp w/ a memory slot 😊

Bye bye for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

New friendsNew friends
New friends

Sasha, a few of her friends from the turtle conservatory, and I
Uh ohUh oh
Uh oh

It was going to be one of THOSE nights...


16th June 2012

Glad you made it there safely
Hi Chandra, Glad you made it across the pond safely! If you're already planning to head to London, I hope that you'll consider hopping on the train to Edinburgh (if you want even more sense of history). Beautiful city, wonderful people -- while I was there someone described it as the biggest little village in Europe. It sounds like Bella's in good hands with your mom, and we're looking forward to taking her on a nice, long playdate next weekend. Take care, and looking forward to more posts! Dina (& Kerry & Daisy)
19th June 2012

Hi Dina! I'd love to get up to Edinburgh but I don't think we'll be able to make it. We're headed more East then farther South. That will just have to be another trip! Thank you and Kerry both for everything again :) I called my mom today and she tried to get Bella to listen to the phone while I was talking, I'm definitely missing her.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb