Arrival In the Emerald Isle


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well....all of the official trauma and difficulties are over (3 different airports and 2 planes) and I am lounging safely in my hostel in Dublin. I have to say, Heathrow is probably the coolest airport I've ever been to and it's incredibly user friendly with happy gigantic purple signs telling you where to go like every 2 feet. They also have buses that take you everywhere because it's so huge and it takes over 25 minutes to walk from one end of the terminal to the other. My poor Irish seatmates almost missed their flight since we didn't anticipate this lengthy walk, but luckily I made it through ok AND my luggage actually arrived on time! After squeaking in on my 23kg weight limit and having my pack be classified as oversized, I had no clue what fate would behold my luggage, but apparently British Airways does a good job. They also play really good inflight movies and serve free wine and cheesecake with dinner ; I think they may be on to something!

I think the funniest part was probably trying to find the right bus to get on when I arrived in Ireland and once I did, I couldn't understand the bus driving telling me to " puet eet in frownt of da cwocles!" What he was trying to tell idiot me, was scan my ticket in front of the circles, but hey, after 1 hour of sleep, no food since 6 am and a 4 hour time change what did he expect?! At least my hostel was crazy easy to find on some bridge over the Liffey River (which p.s. is really disappointingly small after their lovely descriptions of it). While I hadn't anticipated the craziness of 18-20 year olds on a free-for-all weekend inhabiting my current hostel (let's not get me started on this) it's actually not as bad as I expected and I feel really secure and safe. The bathrooms are even pretty darn clean, which is definitely saying something after all of the horror stories I'd read. I also wandered around the streets randomly and they're sure right about a young population, it feels like the streets are just packed with kids 18-25, it's ridiculous. Dublin itself is quite a pretty city, but it seems quite ordinary like any other big city I've lived in, so let's hope those castles live up to their reputation! In the meantime, my jetlagged person needs to get some shut eye, so peace out and hugs and kisses to all my fam and friends!

xoxo Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Grocery shopping excursionGrocery shopping excursion
Grocery shopping excursion

A super mall...with huge streets that are pedestrian only and everything's outside. Weirdddd
The terrifying N11The terrifying N11
The terrifying N11

Check out those sweet buses


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb