Coming Home for the Holidays


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
December 24th 2010
Published: December 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I did it! I survived my first semester in grad school at Trinity College!! It's almost impossible for me to believe the entire semester is over already. It went by so quickly! And though the past few months have been some of the most fun I've ever had, they were not without work and far from easy. Especially the last few weeks.

After coming home from my grandfather's funeral, I had a lot of catching up to do. I went from class to the library to work and back to the library, day in and day out. I had so many papers coming due and tests to study for, it seemed at times quite overwhelming. But with my birthday falling on December 9th, usually right before finals, it's always a nice break from it all.

Though I was incredibly busy on my birthday this year, from meetings with professors to class to work events, I had an absolutely amazing birthday. Once I finally had everything done for the day, my coursemates, my housemates, and a few of my other friends from Dublin and I all met up at one of our local pubs. I think it was the escape we all needed at that point - one night where we didn't have to think about papers, about tests, about work and were able just to enjoy each other's company. Though I wasn't able to spend my birthday with my family from home, I was able to spend it with all of my new family in Dublin. And a family we all really were becoming. And we had a great time.

Finals came and finals went. I spent a few very late nights in the library and was of course stressed about getting my papers turned in on time. But, it all turned out fine. Though I still don't exactly know how well everything went, I'm feeling pretty good about how I finished my first semester at Trinity College.

As soon as our finals and papers were over, another round of snow hit Ireland. It began to look like I would have quite a difficult time making it out of the country for the holidays. The snowy weather held off over the weekend and on Monday when I was to fly out, it began snowing just before I boarded my plane. After a two hour late departure due to the snow, we were finally able to take off, but landed in Boston where I was to make my connecting flight just in time for me to miss it.

Frustrated and disappointed, I was told in Boston I wouldn't be able to recheck my bags without going across the airport to a different terminal to speak to someone at the United desk. I must have looked very lost and on the verge of tears as I searched for the way to the other terminal when a Logan International airport employee approached me and asked if something was wrong or if there was anything he could help me with. His question of course was enough to set me off as I replied to him "I think I lost my flight," the tears began to flow. Taking pity on me he asked where I needed to go and if I wanted him to go with me. Before I could respond, he picked up my bag, began to run and told me to follow. We ran outside between terminals, dodging taxis and up stairs, through another baggage claim area and to the United desk. As we did so, he looked at me and said "you'll be okay, you know if you miss your flight, there's a reason for it." His willingness to stop whatever he had been doing, help me get to where I needed to be and calm me down, really worked. Though the man at the United desk informed me I had missed my flight and wouldn't be able to fly out until the next day, by that point I had resided to the fact that would be okay. As I turned around to thank the airport employee who had helped me, he was gone. I looked around but he was no where to be found.

I told my Mom the story of what had happened and of the kind man who had come out of nowhere to help me out and assure me everything would work out. As we've all been in situations in airports at one point or another where things just don't work out - you miss your flight, your flight is cancelled, you get bumped to a later flight - it's very easy to get upset and it normally seems like no one really cares. This time was different. My Mom made a comment about the man who helped me being my 'guardian angel,' sent to let me know everything would work out in the end. This really got me thinking.

So many times our lives are touched by 'guardian angels.' Not necessarily real angels, but ordinary people who do extraordinary and unexplainable things for us just in the moment we need it most. From the old friend who calls out of the blue when you're having a bad day, to the coworker or boss who graciously shows understanding when you need a little extra time off, to the man in the airport who carries your bags from terminal to terminal for you when you're about to miss your flight home - it's these ordinary, everyday angels that too often go unappreciated, but can make a considerable impact on our lives.

I eventually did make it home. I even got to spend the night in Boston in a luxurious suite and feasted both that evening and the next morning before my flight to Denver. And when I arrived in Denver, there was my Dad, waiting at the baggage claim area for me, with that look of great anticipation and joy I've begun to look forward to every time I fly home.

While I always love December, with my birthday and Christmas reminding me each year of all the great friends and family I am so lucky to have in my life, my experience this year also reminded me of all the other important people in our lives we so often don't give a second thought to. The man in the airport had no obligation to help me. So often we have the opportunity to help others, though we've no obligation. And so often we are helped by ordinary, everyday angels who we take for granted. This Christmas may we all not only celebrate our families and friends, but also all of the other people in our lives who help make each day a little easier. And may we not only celebrate them, but may we also become someone else's ordinary, everyday angel.

Nollaig Shona Duit everyone!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb