Luck of the Irish?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When we last left off Chris & I were heading to Dingle and the Ring of Kerry. The Ring of Kerry was scratched from the itinerary due to time constraints. The weather was fabulous as we made our way from Limerick to the Dingle peninsula. En route we took the scenic drive through the Connor Pass, the highest mountain pass in Ireland. Through the narrow and winding one lane roads we drove arriving in Dingle. We wandered about the town which has a dolphin, Fungie, as the town mascot! In fact you can even take a boat ride to make a sighting of the famed dolphin. We opted instead to drive around the entire peninsula, after a Guinness of course, to see the breathtaking, spectacular scenery! While driving back to Limerick we managed to be in the right place at the right time and spotted a rainbow...but alas no pot o'gold.

Tuesday morning we headed out early to the Blarney Castle, but since Fitch does not need the gift of gab ( he's already gifted in that department) we only made a brief stop. Next up was Cork, the second largest city in Ireland. Oh how we will never forget Cork! Why you ask? Well after securing a stellar parking space (and I'll add that I did finally drive, which made Fitch understand the terror of being so close to the edge of the road), we headed off to the explore the city. Our time was limited so we headed to the English Market for lunch. The exterior of the building was so impressive I stopped to take a few photos. Chris tried to coax me inside as he began to get impatient. I insisted on taking just one more photo. And then, from out of no where *splat* some enormous bird (it had to be enormous) crapped on us. 😞 We rushed inside and a kind and friendly stall owner allowed us to use her sink, while chuckling amusingly at our situation. I guess bird droppings are suppose to bring luck (right Brenda?), so while we did not find the pot o'gold, perhaps the luck of the Irish is still on our side.

Advertisement



9th April 2009

Oh CRAP!
I've never heard of bird droppings being a sign of good luck. I don't want that kind of luck EVER! I love reading the names of the places you visit. I hear them in my head with a little twing of an Irish accent
9th April 2009

BIRD LUCK
It is my understanding that bird poop is good luck... so take that as two votes!
9th April 2009

it happens to us all, sooner or later
Great travels, I love living vicariously in your blog. Except that you gave me a flashback to a bird incident that happened in New Orleans at the Cafe du Monde... I couldn't eat shrimp for years. Post some photos when you can!
10th April 2009

wow!
You got crapped on by an Irish Ostrich, truly a rare event which would make bird watchers worldwide envious. Can hardly wait to see the pictures!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb