Pines, Pines, Everywhere Pines....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
June 29th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oregon is awesome! It smells like camping and donuts! Okay, it doesn't really smell like donuts, but Portland has one of the most unusual donut shops I have every visited--VooDoo Doughnuts. They have some unique flavors there, in fact I tried one encrusted with Oreos and drizzled with peanut butter. Yum! You can even get married there! Check it out yourself: http://voodoodoughnut.com/

I had a great time exploring the winding roads and some amazing scenery, traversing almost 400 miles with my rental car in one day! I ventured east to see Multnomah Falls, the second tallest year round waterfall and to see some breathtaking views of Mt. Hood. I was fortunate to see the the peaks of Mt. Hood from both the sky and the ground. After my trek east, I headed west to the coast, through the timbered forests, of which just under fifty percent is harvested for timber and paper products. And those trees are some of the tallest I have seen in quite some time! Granted you cannot drive through them, like the redwoods in California, but they are impressive nevertheless! After exploring the scenic coast, I toured the Tillamook Cheese Factory, for a view of all things dairy! It was a spectacular drive which I would recommend to anyone!

Back in Portland, I explored as much of the city as possible during my short visit. Portland is a beautiful city, and had it been on my radar when I was in college, it's likely I would have moved there! Granted I happen to visit when the weather was perfect, yes perfect, so that might have influenced my perceptions just a bit. One thing that impressed me immensely was how bike friendly Portland is...bikes are welcomed on buses and trains, and bars are even rated on how bike friendly they are!

Since pictures can speak volumes about an experience, I think it's best to let them do all the talking.

Hope you all are enjoying your summer! Next stop for me is our neighbor to the north! Stay tuned....


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th July 2009

Hmmm...
I'm worried about going to a place that smells like camping. Camping (to me) has never smelled good to me. But everything else looks like fun!
9th July 2009

beautiful!
love the pictures!!! you look like you're in paradise!
10th July 2009

Beautiful Pictures
Wendy, Your pictures are awesome. You make me want to hit the northwest. That would be a reasonable trip even I could afford.
10th July 2009

Wendy, Portland and Seattle have always been on my to see list. This only makes me more determined to get there. I was in Flagstaff 3 weeks ago and the weather along with the scenery was amazing. Can't wait to hear how it goes in Canada. Maritza
12th July 2009

Nice pics
You did go on a lovely, lovely day in Oregon. I like the self-portrait :) Did you make it to the weekend market in Portland? I'm still working on figuring out how to post pictures with my entries. Safe travels, Marina
12th July 2009

See what not working does?
You look so beautiful and relaxed! Continue enjoying! Sending you good vibes!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb