GUINNESS!!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
October 17th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok so anyone who knows me would tell you my favourite pint: Guinness. Hands down, no competition. I shudder to think of how much I've spent on it over the years, but I've enjoyed every pint. I've been known to sit in a pub for 12 hours on St. Patrick's Day and consume at least one per hour (perhaps my finest hour). I've taken to collecting random Guinness items, hoarding t-shirts, rugby shirts and towels. I refuse to mix it with cider, baileys or ribena. I hate when it's too cold, and I cringe if I watched it poured incorrectly.

So to say that I was excited to get to the storehouse is an understatement. It's a visual explosion, complete with full walls of the 'cascade' effect in a pint glass. You're taken through 7 floors of the hows, where, why and when of Guinness from conception (the 9000 year lease!) to present day.

All the advertising; all the old footage, commercials, posters, collectable items.

I seriously didn't say anything for the whole time....and then I went shopping. Yes, shopping. I held myself back and didn't spend as much as I wanted to--talk about sensory overload!!! Bought a few gifts, 2 shirts for myself and then walked myself out on my ear with my credit card melting in my pocket : ) .

So bear with me, the pictures may not mean a whole lot...but I know that to my fellow Guinness crew they are solid gold.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

sarah 487sarah 487
sarah 487

There's a wall where you can leave a note....


18th October 2008

Awesome.
So glad that you finally got to Shangri-La. I must admit, the Cascade panels are very cool, maybe not as cool as an actual Guinness Cascade, but pretty cool. Seeing all your photo's really does make me want to pick up and go, maybe in a couple years.
23rd October 2008

mistake...THE MOTHER SHIP
WOW!! You really were meant to go on this trip huh? Almost every entry is yet another dream come true for you. COULDN'T BE HAPPIER FOR YOU!

Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb