Blarney Castle and Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
April 20th 2013
Published: April 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Blarney CastleBlarney CastleBlarney Castle

Randi and I
I woke up and started my way on my last trip in Ireland. I cannot believe this all went by so fast. Randi and I took a bus to Cork and caught a bus to Blarney from there. As we walked onto the castle grounds, I was amazed at the flower and scenery. I am so glad that I didn't visit until now, when the flowers were in bloom. We followed a river to the castle to make our way up to the infamous Blarney Stone. On the side of the castle was the entrance to the dungeons. The area was very small and there wasn't enough room to stand up. I wonder how they used it as a dungeon. As we walked through the castle, we got to see all the different rooms and the castle looks like it was very beautiful back when it was lived in. The stone was at the top of the castle and in order to kiss it, you had to lay on your back and arch your back. While doing this, your head was over a straight drop to the ground. The man that was helping with the stone wouldn't let us get a good picture of each other kissing the stone. I had to buy one that they took from the gift shop, but at least I have one! After the castle, we went to the Stable Yard Cafe to get a bite to eat. Randi had Beef Stew and I had an apple danish! After filling up our stomachs, we were ready to explore some more. We walked to the Rock Close. This area was breathtaking. If fairies actually do exist, this is where they live. It looked like it was out of a movie. We saw a little carved chair and table. I think it was a leprechaun's. shh! Don't tell anyone! There were also these stairs that if you walk up and down them with your eyes closed and not thinking about anything else besides your wish, the wish will come true within a year! Randi and I both did it successfully, so I am waiting for the wish to come true! After the stairs, we came up to this tree where the roots were growing next to us out of the ground. It was so unique. We made our way to a waterfall. This is where I think the fairies live. There were these huge yellow flowers. I have never seen anything like them before. This area was beautiful and green.The next place we went was on the other side of the castle. There is a Blarney House which is quite big, but it is privately owned, so we couldn't go on the property. We took a walk by the lake and it was really windy. We sat on a bench for awhile and just watched the wind push the water towards us. We finished by walking through the Fern Garden. It honestly looked like something out of Jurassic Park. This place is at the top of my list for favorite places in Ireland now. It was so stunning.

We ventured back to Cork to spend a few hours. We walked up and down St. Patrick's Street and visited the Old English Market. I bought some apples and Randi got a sausage for dinner. As we were shopping, there were lots of street performers. One was a skeleton cloaked thing and he made me scream cause he scared me so much! There was also a group of younger men that were a band. They sounded pretty good but the singer needed to be louder. My favorite street performer that I saw was this little old man that was tap dancing in the street. He made my day so I gave him some money. He was so cute! All in all though. Cork was like any other big city except maybe a little more tourist friendly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Kissing the Stone!
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Playground!
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Playground!
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Rock Close
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Wishing Stairs
Blarney CastleBlarney Castle
Blarney Castle

Tree with weird roots


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb