The Races!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick » Limerick
April 11th 2013
Published: April 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So it was Student Race Day! As we were putting on our makeup and putting on our dressy clothes, everyone walking outside was in suits and dresses. I loved it! Everyone looked so nice. I had even bought a big, flowery hat for the occasion. We all went over to Reed's house before we got on the bus to go to the Races. Everyone looked so nice! On the bus, I met one of Brittany's friends from London, Kristy. She was a lot of fun to talk to. After the 30 minute bus ride to the track, the sun was out and it was actually warm. Of course, you can never expect this to last a long time in Ireland, especially Limerick which is the wettest county in Ireland. Right by the entrance was the warm up ring, and I saw some of the horses being warmed up. Then, we went down to the track and I saw my first live horse race, the first of seven races. People were betting, but I had no idea how to do that so I left that to them. I guess I just never realized how long the race tracks are, but it really took me off guard. Then, the weather started to deteriorate. It was sprinkling and was really annoying. Thank goodness I had a big hat on! At a point, Alyssa, Austin, and I couldn't take it anymore and we went inside for a little while and got some food. When we went back outside, Sammi had finally found us! We watched a few more races and then headed back to the bus to go back to school. One thing I did notice was that everyone at the races was very intoxicated, I didn't expect it to be that bad because everyone was dressing up so nice, but I guess you cannot expect any less when you are at an event with college-aged Irish. It was a really fun day and I'm glad I went. Plus, I always love an excuse to dress up!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb