Road Trip & Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
August 24th 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

August 24th -- Day Four -- Road Trip & Cork
Driving in Ireland is an experience that is difficult to describe. It’s like telling someone what something tastes like. Now, to be fair, I’m not the one driving; I’m the one being driven. David does the driving. The roads are narrow, fast and winding. At any moment another car may pass very quickly, or you may find yourself behind a slow moving piece of farm equipment. Roundabouts may have rules, but we’ve yet to discover what these may be.

Stopped at an Abbey on the way to Cork. David got some wonderful photos and I got bit by a wasp. The Abbey is still in operation and its members observe silence at various times during the day. Perhaps the wasp was trying to enforce the rules?

Our next stop was Dungarvan where we looked for a place to eat lunch. We went into a restaurant and were told they didn’t open until half past twelve. It was 12:15. The lady asked if we wanted to wander around and come back. We said that would be fine. She then said, “So, you’ll be back in about a half hour then?” I said, “But you just said you open in 15 minutes.” She said, “Oh yes, but we have to get everything set up.” I thanked her and said we were in a bit of a hurry and would try another place. We went around the corner to a little pub -- no waiting and the food was great! Sense of time is very different in Ireland. Patrick told us he asked for some plumbers to come to the castle to fix a bathroom -- they showed up a year later! The kids are convinced no one works in Ireland! I think they just don’t work in the same regimented time-space as we’re used to. Those who know me well, will agree that I sometimes operate in that same time-space.

The wasp I met at the Abbey, also came to Dungarvan with us -- in my hair. He bit me again on the opposite side of the same finger!! Another divine message?

Our time in Cork was not terribly productive. We were a bit short on time. Went to a lovely market and bought some food. I could really get used to shopping this way. Can’t say much else. Maybe I will be back some day, but I really do prefer the countryside to the city.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 119; dbt: 0.1366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb