Hungary for more


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
February 5th 2010
Published: February 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yes, ive been a little slack, well maybe not slack, just busy! So let me try and catch up…. So Stockholm? Was AWESOME! Love it, had a great time and it was so beautiful and I don’t think it was just because of the snow. Met a lot of cool people, travelling by myself is definitely not so daunting. There are so many other people in exactly in the same boat! Fortunate enough on my first night to have an Aussie in my room from Perth but living in Paris, he hasn’t been home in 2 years but will be next month. The first night was a sat night and we ended up wondering around Stockholm at night which was quite nice with the typical crazy French activist chick, hilarious but very strange woman… Spent my 3 days there just exploring, chilling, browsing and freezing just a little, Let just say my boots from AUS are now screwed :S On my last day I ended up chilling in the hostel, I had to check out at 10 but my flight to Budapest didn’t leave till 8pm, but I met some cool people, another aussie who sounded very British and Irish. Listening to their crazy stories and travelling ways made me kinda realize that im probably travelling around Europe in style! 2minute noodles, packets soups and water, that crazy stuff…. Guh, I personally think that eating the local food is ALL apart of the experience of travelling in different countries, but I guess other people are really ‘hard core’????!! But everyone was so friendly and now I have a swag of a whole bunch of hilarious stories to tell the guys at home!

Next, I had a 2 hour flight to Budapest, Hungary which got in at 10.30pm and when I eventually arrived out amazing hostel (which was really like an apartment) I finally met up with Sue and we stayed up and caught up on all our crazy and exciting stories of our travels so far, such as Sue and Fuz being fined in Prague for not buying train tickets! Haha. And my thoughts on Budapest??? AMAZING. I loved it there, everything was so gorgeous and so so cheap!!! We were definitely living in style and eating in style too! We basically covered all the touristy things on our trip and on our second day met up with Sarah and we to the underground labyrinth caves and dinner at the place called Meznas and it was SO good! Yum, we have mains, desserts and a bottle of wine for $25 AUS each, splashing out, but it was a bargain! I would definitely go back to Budapest one day. I also sent a box of clothes and junk home as my baggage was getting quite full!! It cost me $80AUS for 4kgs, which was ok I guess??? But now I have space, which may have got replaced by my amazing, awesome ZARA winter coat I bought for about 60%off, it was originally $150 and I think it was worth it. Hopefully it’s not too ‘European’ for Adelaide!

I currently on the train from Budapest to Bratislava, Slovakia for 2 nights and 1 day. It will take 2.5 hours to get there which will break up the 8 hour trip it takes to get to Krakow in Poland. The scenery is STUNNING, sometimes I wonder if it’s just the snow, but I don’t think it is. Looking forward to chilling and exploring Slovakia, definitely not on the top of my travelling list but ive heard lots of good things.

S.


Advertisement



8th February 2010

I agree about Bp!
Hey yo, I am hungarian but I still always get amazed by Budapest! I do not live there but at Siófok/Balaton lake. Once a week I have some arrangements at the capital city and I am always amazed by the sight of that big whit bridge as I am driving down on the hills, next to the danube!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb