Slovaki-what?


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava » New Town
February 7th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Slovakia-what? Yes, I think many people are wondering are wondering why I venture to this random country. But that’s what travelling is all about right? Going to random different places! I bet most people I know can’t say that they’ve been to Slovakia, so ha, I have one up on you 😉 Besides that it’s also broke up my trip to Krakow, Poland.

So this was really the official first time of me training it alone. Daunting? Just a little. When you don’t speak the language and don’t know how the whole system works, it’s even more confusing. But I was more than happy to take up the challenge. My problem is, is that I tend to doubt my decisions once of made then, although my instincts are usually right. So after worry about weather I was in the right train let alone the right seating area (I discovered I was fine), the 2.5 hour train ride to Bratislava was beautiful, but most of my trip has been do far!

I ran into a little dilemma when I got to Bratislava as my hostel (Hostel Vegas, for all you future travelers) overbooked, but I must also note that I booked the wrong dates but emailed them twice, blaa blaa blaa. But they gave me back my deposit and helped me find a new hostel (Hostel Blues) which maybe turned out for the best! Each of the rooms were themed and I was in the girls dormitory of London. I was also fortunate for the first night to have the whole room to myself on the first night!!

Slovakia is actually, as of January 1 2009, the only eastern European country on the EURO, which was nice for a change, well according t my knowledge anyway…

So my thoughts of Bratislava, Slovakia. Definitely not place that would stay in for long, and if you did, you would go explore the surrounding countryside. I basically had the whole city done in 2 hours and that was on foot. The Castle is closed for renovation and I didn’t go into any of the museums or churches. After travelling extensively throughout Europe, you tend to get Churched, Museumed and Art Gallery-ed out.

One of my biggest travelers is to stock up in the supermarket. I went to Tesco and got enough food for lunch, snacks, breakfast and the next days lunch, all for 5euros!! Bargain, especially when u end up spending 5euro for lunch and 10euros for dinner, I think I did pretty well!
Currently chilling on the train to Krakow, as far as I know, it’s not direct and my ticket isn’t so clear, so here’s to hoping that actually make it there! Just pulled in to Breklav,

S.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb