Out in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
October 16th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

New friends (well, acquaintances)New friends (well, acquaintances)New friends (well, acquaintances)

Me with two of my fellow hostellers - Steve and a girl whose name I forgot.
I arrived in Budapest this afternoon. Another uneventful train ride. The train was late again. They seem to always be. Not a big deal - I don’t have grand plans here.

The hostel in Budapest is a bit different than most I’ve stayed at. It’s much more of a laid back crowd. I could easily see them having the place on a beach with a campfire if they could. A guitar hung from above the couch as some of the guests lounged around and rested up for another night on the town.

Once I was settled in, quite an ordeal since they had my reservation screwed up, I joined the others for some food and beers.

After a few hours the staff took everyone out on the town. We walked for a good hour trying to get to one place, realizing it was closed then grabbing some roadies at a 24 hour store while trying to find an open bar. Budapest seems to be a ghost town this time of year.

We eventually found a place and settled in there. Around 2:30 it was time for me to call it quits. A guy from Canada named Michael and I took off. When we got back, I set out again, this time for a nice satisfying kebab. No luck. When I got back, a couple others had arrived. We sat around and talked for a bit before I headed to bed.

Tomorrow is my first full day here. Like Vienna, I have to figure out exactly why I’m here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb