Finally climbing the Acropolis


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 2nd 2005
Published: August 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

on the top of Athenson the top of Athenson the top of Athens

view from Acropolis
When I told my mother I was going to Athens, she asked me why! If there was one capital in Europe she absolutely didn't like it was that one. Maybe, she told me, it has the Acropolis, but the rest... I thought that was kind of a pesimistic idea of the European democracy's birthplace. I mean a city with such a history must have more than some ancient ruins on a hill-top. But I must admit that my mother was right. Athens is definetly not my favourite place for a vacation. The city seems almost sad. The houses build in a period not known for the greatest architecture and it is impossible to breath anything just slightly reminding you of fresh air.

But there were other things in Athens. I finally got company again and the possibility of talking to fellow travellers, which I enjoyed tremendously.

I also did get to climb the Acropolis, which I chose to do as early in the morning as possible, making me feel quite alone and free. I left when the first bus of Japanese tourists arrived, thinking how lucky I was. I still congratulate myself with the idea of getting up a
Morning sun on AcropolisMorning sun on AcropolisMorning sun on Acropolis

Acropolis, Athens
little earlier than every other tourist walking around the Parthenon.

I also had some walks in the touristic hell of Plaka, where every nice little house has a souvenir shop with prices that reaches Mount Olympus. Only the Gods can aford that. And a great time during the evenings, meeting new people and having a beer before reaching the bed. I met a really great English guy working in the reception, who was travelling while working. He was one of these people that really digs into the culture and meets the locals and tries to make a living there and some extra money to travel on. Not like the rest of us bagpackers who just wonders from place to place over night. So respect to him.

I think this will be my thoughts about Athens and my visit to the grand Acropolis!

Anna


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

graffiti in Athensgraffiti in Athens
graffiti in Athens

central Athens
The blue sky of AthensThe blue sky of Athens
The blue sky of Athens

Athens chapel tower


Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb