Back to the EU - mainland Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Epirus » Ioannina
August 1st 2005
Published: August 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Since I last wrote on the blog several days ago I've been really busy, travelling in Greece, climbing ancient monuments, reading fat books and partying. All shall be accounted for in the following blogs.

Ioannina


I crossed the border to Greece on the 29th of July. It was far more easy than expected. An hour later I stood at the bus-station in Ioannina where I found myself baking in the sun with my exstremely heavy bagpack. I think the reason it was so easy for me was my very handy EU passport. All my fellow travellers from the bus had to wait in the long line for non-EU citizens.

I had no idea for accomondation that night. So I crisscrossed the city in search of three things; a hotel, an internet connection and Harry Potter. First I found a really great internet cafe where it was not only cheap, but the staff also did everything they coud to help me seek for accommodation. Then I went on, finding a bookstore where they had one last copy of Harry Potter, which I greedily dragged down the shelf, while smirking widely. Also here they did everything in their power to remember
Ioannina old fortressIoannina old fortressIoannina old fortress

in the streets of the old fortress
names of different hotels in town. They gave me some hints and I continued mostly with my thoughts surrounding the plasticbag in which my new best friend was safely put. I found a hotel, cheap and nice and highly above Albanian standard. I took the bagpack off my crumbled bag and rested for an hour in my room.

After waking up I spent most of the evening, as well as the following day, halfly sightseeing, halfly visiting every coffeeshop in town to get a refreshment and another chapter of Harry Potter - a big fat book which I had done in less than 24hours. I guess I just needed a break from the travelling. I can feel that I'm a little tired of all the busdriving and sightseing, meeting new people and so on. So Thanks J. K. Rowling for making a great book, which gave me that break. But a good suggestion: make a pocket edition aswell next time. It's pretty heavy to carry around!

Anna

Advertisement



17th August 2005

to anna
i would like to thank you for visiting my country . i live in uk for4years and is not how i thought is worst than albania it is so mess and people are so unfriendly and most it is so scared to walk or go out because drunk people and youth boys will abuse or attack you.england is a really a mess
17th April 2006

Nice
Hey, Nice photos and honest un-bias accounts of your travels, really nice. I am a Serb and you should have stayed in Belgrade or Novi Sad they are so nice cities you won't believe it. I love Greece and Greek people are like the same as Serbs, so advanced race, with beautiful country, culture, food and religion. Anna you are sooooo right!! I hate England (london) i guess you are living in London as well and I hate it, it's dirty, has too much graffiti, people are stupid and unfriendly and it is so unsafe you can get killed if you go out at night it is worst than Albania! ----------->> http://www.pbase.com/stefan_serb <<------------------- CAO!!

Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb