Germany? Why not?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein » Kiel
January 9th 2012
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

If someone had told me a year ago that I would be living in Germany in a few short months I would have looked at this person and said "Really? Awesome." I had been looking for work abroad for some months and it was about time something came up!

Anywho, my move to Northern Germany was swift. I was interviewed, offered a position and relocated in about a month and a half. It was my first "real job," I had very little experience and I had not spoken a work of German in my life. I had never even heard of Kiel until I got an e-mail asking for an interview. I hadn't even remembered I had applied for a position there!

But here I am, doing what I've always wanted. I have wonderful students, I've captured myself a handsome, German boyfriend, I'm learning German which is something I never, ever thought I would be doing and I have the opportunity to see so many places that I've only been able to dream about. Not too shabby!

It's been an absolute rollercoaster since I arrived here about 9 1/2 months ago. I've learned so much and met so many interesting people. Students have come and gone (and come back again), co-workers have come and gone (and come back again), romances have bloomed and withered (and, yes, bloomed again) and there doesn't seem to be an end in sight (knock on wood).

This life, however, comes at a price. I've had to sacrifice being close to my family and friends in America. I have the greatest family anyone could ask for. But they are genuinely happy for me and this makes it easier to be away; that, and Skype. ;-)

So, how about some pictures from Kiel? Not the most beautiful city, but it's my city now. And I think I'll stay on a bit longer. I better! My boyfriend bought me a keyboard for Christmas! I guess I should stick around for a while! Enjoy the photos and thanks for reading. More to come. When? Who knows?! x


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb