Family/Hot pot, Zoo Leipzig, Beach volleyball and Chores


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Leipzig
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The day after Alex's graduation we had a sort of family day around the house. Christoph and Steffi were still here from Frankfurt and Alex's grandparents also came over. I then experienced the German version of a hot tub - they call it a hot pot. However, I feel it should be renamed. Perhaps a lukeward tub or a pretty damn cold tub. It was effing freezing. Anyway, all 8 of us were in it. We had a few kicking wars, a blow off with the rubber ducky and Frank's cowboy hat was filled with water many times. This was after the chocolate and wine, of course. Then we had coffee with some more awesome strawberry cake. Yumm. I could really get used to this extra meal. Alex's grandma also gave us a gift certificate for the zoo. She is really sweet. Christoph and Steffi headed back to Frankfurt for their dance class and Alex's grandparents left too. Frank then picked up Andra's mom to join us for dinner.

Yesterday, Alex and I had an awesome day. We rode bikes into the city. It was really cool to see it that way. We went to the bank and then to
ChoresChoresChores

Alex, hard at work.
the main station. The main station is really cool. It's like a 3 story mall with a train station. It's huge! There we got some normal food 😊 Subway. I think I will go back and look around some more when Alex leaves.

We then made our way over to Zoo Leipzig. It's a very nice zoo, and pretty big. They have a lot of cool statues and toys that Alex and I played on, whether we were supposed to or not 😊 It made for some fun pictures, anyway. We also found some fun little money donation spinner things. Of course we only let our coins go so far before grabbing them 😊 There was only one awkward moment when a lady kept asking me for the time and I just ignored her. Alex finally helped. But I did understand one small child when he was pointing at Nemo in the aquarium.

After the zoo, Alex and I went to play beach volleyball with Jona and Maggi. They were really nice and much better than us. But we split the teams up and it was all good. The facility was really nice, but you had to pay to play. It was kind of weird.

Today, Alex and I did some chores. They have an electric lawmower which is effing weird, but it seems to work well. Alex did the mowing while I sweeped up the terrace. Then we cleaned out the hot pot. We are now listening to Harry Potter 6 on tape, preparing for the movie to come out on the 15th - IN ENGLISH woo-hoo! When Andra gets home Alex and I will go to the store. I am teaching him how to make quesadillas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Zoo LeipzigZoo Leipzig
Zoo Leipzig

Having fun on the elephant.
Zoo LeipzigZoo Leipzig
Zoo Leipzig

Alex on the toy horse, which I can now juxtapose with his picture on the toy horse at the Portland Zoo.
Zoo LeipzigZoo Leipzig
Zoo Leipzig

Alex, becoming one with the world.
Zoo LeipzigZoo Leipzig
Zoo Leipzig

One of the many random persons Alex took pictures of.
Beach VolleyballBeach Volleyball
Beach Volleyball

The park we played at. €2 per hour.
Hot PotHot Pot
Hot Pot

Blow off against Alex's grandpa with the rubber ducky. I so won.
Hot PotHot Pot
Hot Pot

Alex's grandpa and Christoph kicking water at Andra and me.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb