Amazonia - Spa - The Monument of the Battle of the Nations


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
July 4th 2009
Published: July 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TramTramTram

Trying to get a picture
On Thursday, Alexander took me to see an exhibit on the Amazon called Amazonia. It was fantastic, starting with the fact that all of the information was also in English 😊 I never thought I be so happy to read about ants protecting plants to ensure their food supply... Anyway, at the end of the exhibit was a huge 360 degree panarama of the rainforest. It was awesome. It was programmed to change times of day in the rainforest. So went all day and into the night and even had a thunder and lightening storm, complete with sound. I took a video of it on my camera, but I'm not sure I can upload it onto here. I'll try though. After leaving the exhibit, we ran into one of a few thunderstorms this week. Of course, Alex was being a baby about having to walk back to the tram in the rain...

Yesterday, Frank and Andra took us to a sort of spa. It was a little over an hour to the south, in a little village. It was pretty sweet. I'm not exactly sure what it was. They said it was water from the earth. I think it was
TramTramTram

Still not cooperating
mineral water with a high salt concentration. That part was sweet. You couldn't possibly sink. There was also a pool that played music underwater. That was awesome. After that, we went down the road for a nice outdoor dinner at small restaurant. I had steak and potatoes, and a few funny looks when I asked for ketchup 😊

Today, we got up around 7 to have breakfast with Alex before he left for the Baltic Sea. Then Andra and I went The Monument of the Battle of the Nations. It was really cool and had a great museum to go along with it. There were some cool statues (see pictures) but the best thing was the view from the top. I could see the entire city and surrounding villages. It was great. The clouds went away just as we reached the top, too - and it was quite a climb, way more stairs than the Astro Column. Luckily, I was able to get an audio tour in English. The audio tour went on throughout the museum, too. The museum consisted of the history behind the monument. Mostly it dealt with the Napoleonic reign throughout the region and ultimately his
TramTramTram

Finally got an okay one.
downfall. It was really cool for me because my history class winter term picked up right after his fall so I studied the after effects of Napoleon's rule but not the events before hand that led to the structuring of life and government after Napoleon.

*****Oh, and I have added more pictures to the last two entries.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

AmazoniaAmazonia
Amazonia

My favorite part of the panarama
AmazoniaAmazonia
Amazonia

Favorite part again
AmazoniaAmazonia
Amazonia

Attempting to get a picture in the flash free zone. Kind of a cool outline though.
SpaSpa
Spa

Frank outside the spa.
SpaSpa
Spa

Alex, Me
Monument of the Battle of the NationsMonument of the Battle of the Nations
Monument of the Battle of the Nations

Veiw approaching the monument
Monument of the Battle of the NationsMonument of the Battle of the Nations
Monument of the Battle of the Nations

View approaching the monument
Monument of the Battle of the NationsMonument of the Battle of the Nations
Monument of the Battle of the Nations

One of the statues inside.
Monument of the Battle of the NationsMonument of the Battle of the Nations
Monument of the Battle of the Nations

This part is called the tomb. It's symbolic for all of the lives lost during the battle.
Monument of the Battle of the NationsMonument of the Battle of the Nations
Monument of the Battle of the Nations

Sitting at the top. It was pretty windy. Andra said something like 5 people have already jumped this year. Yikes!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb