Alex's graduation


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Leipzig
June 28th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So German graduations and American graduations are on entirely different ends of the spectrum. Personally, I feel they know what they are doing - minus the whole speaking in German 😊 We had a party of eight - Alex's grandparents, Andra, Frank, Christoph, Steffi, Alex and myself. I met Christoph and Steffi a few hours before. They are super nice and speak English 😊 I soon learned that Andra is not the only Moeller with a lead foot - Frank and Christoph raced us across town to get to the graduation. It began with dinner, well, wine actually - but dinner followed shortly after. We also had to go for pictures, of course. The whole night was a little bit difficult for me because everybody was speaking in German. I spoke with Christoph some but for the most part just sat there. A few groups sang, Alex's friend played sax and another two played cello and violin together. They then had the students present gifts to their main teachers. Lastly the king and queen of the class were announced. I tried to vote Alex for queen, but the girl with the ballots didn't think that was such a good idea 😊
Alex's GraduationAlex's GraduationAlex's Graduation

Christoph and Steffi
Then there was more talking in German at our table... Then we went over to the bar where Frank wanted to buy me whiskey, but I insisted on a Coca-Cola Light. I was already super tired from the wine - I understand now Laurie - since Christoph just kept pouring me more and more... I decided to leave with Frank and Andra at 1 am (we arrived at 630 pm). There was still an after party that would go until 4 am, but I was tired and figured it would be better for Alex to have fun with his friends and not have to worry about me. I went to bed right when we got home, but unfortunately was unable to sleep past 630 this morning, ugh. I now sit waiting for others to wake up.

Oh, and yesterday before Christoph and Steffi arrived, Alex and I went to visit Andra's mom at the nursing home. She has alzheimers. He is really good with her though. And the facility is very nice. She did remember Andra for the first time in a very long time the day before too. It's very sad, but the family takes really good care
Alex's graduationAlex's graduationAlex's graduation

Christoph mastered the timer on the camera to get everybody in. I was impressed.
of her.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Alex's GraduationAlex's Graduation
Alex's Graduation

Alex and Frank
Alex's GraduationAlex's Graduation
Alex's Graduation

Alex and his grandfather
Alex's GraduationAlex's Graduation
Alex's Graduation

Alex and his grandfather
Alex's GraduationAlex's Graduation
Alex's Graduation

Alex and Andra
Alex's graduationAlex's graduation
Alex's graduation

Alex, Steffi, Me, Christoph
Alex's graduationAlex's graduation
Alex's graduation

Alex, Me, Christoph
Alex's graduationAlex's graduation
Alex's graduation

Me, Frank - So tired by this point. It's 1am or so.
Alex's graduationAlex's graduation
Alex's graduation

Moeller family humor at its best. Alex, Frank, Christoph


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb