Wine on the Rhein!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Bacharach
August 13th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


WeinstubeWeinstubeWeinstube

Here is our first sampling of Reisling Wines!
This past weekend, 6 of us from the CDC Language school took off (some slightly hungover from the kneipe tour...yours truly included) for the small and beautiful town of Bacharach. Bacharach is on the Rhein south of Koblenz and north of Mainz. It is one of the prettiest sections of the famous river.

We took the train to Koblenz and then switched to another train to Bacharach. I think in total the trip was about 2 hours. We got a Schones Wochenende ticket which basically means that you can travel anywhere in Germany on the Regional Trains with a group of people for 35 Euros, up to 5 people. So it was super cheap to get there.

When we arrived we found ourselves a quaint little German restaurant and had a fabulous traditional lunch. From there we headed over to the Weinstube (Wine bar) and had ourselves a sampler that came on a lazy susan .There were about 13 different wines and they were numbered so that we could figure out what kinds we liked the best. Most of them were versions of Resiling which is the wine that is produced in that Region of Germany.

The town
Our HostelOur HostelOur Hostel

Thats our Hostel up on the hill!
was really beautiful and very small and I think we all enjoyed the peace and quiet. We walked around for a while to check it out and then finally decided in the afternoon it was time to climb the big hill to our Youth Hostel, the castle on the top!!! This is by far the best idea i've seen yet here, take a castle nad make it a cheap youth hostel. :-)

It was a bit of a hike, but there were lots of pretty views of the Vinyards and the River on the way up. We got the castle eventually and went to check in. We were told that we could have an all you can eat dinner for 6 Euros and the bar opened up at 7:30. We were sold. We decided it was useless to leave the castle to try and head back down to the little town of Bacharach. We had so much fun that evening, socializing on the grounds overlooking a beautiful view, drinking German wine. There was a tour group that had just arrived of 20 somethings on a Contiki like trip around Europe. I met two girls that went to UT, so
GirlsGirlsGirls

On the Rhein!
funny how small the world can be.

I woke up a little early on Sunday morning, but I was really glad I did, because I looked out the window and immediatly threw a fleece on and grabbed my camera. The sun was rising and there was fog all over the hills surrounding the river. I spent about an hour taking photos and I got some really beautiful ones. We all ate breakfast and checked out of the hostel and proceeded down to the river so that we could meet our boat.

The Rhein Cruise all the way from Bacharach to Cologne sounded like a fabulous idea at the time, but I have to say, I probably would have been completely satisfied with getting off at Koblenz and riding the train from there. 8 1/2 hrs on a ship with horrid German music was REALLY long. We did enjoy ourselves for the first 5 hours or so, sitting outside, soaking up the sun, and listening to our own ipods. The stretch from Bacharach to Koblenz is absolutely beautiful, tons of castles, churches, and cute towns. I am glad I finally got to see this famous part of the world.
The GroupThe GroupThe Group

All of us up at the Hostel
We arrived back in Cologne a bit tired and over the German Music at about 8:30 pm.

Overall this was a fabulous weekend. I would definitely go back and stay here again if I had the chance. Perhaps I will do it again in a few weeks? haha. Everything else is good, just going to class all day and learning more German. I am going to hang out in Cologne this weekend to relax and perhaps stay at my new favorite place one day, the Freibad (Open Air Swimming Pool) - i.e. 5-6 pools connected together with huge lawns and a gigantic slide. :-) We also are having a festival/circus in my suburb and there is an International Party at our language school on Friday. Good times.

Thanks for all of your comments and messages. Please email me and keep me updated. I have internet at home now so I am able to keep up better with everything. Also, if you would like to see ALL 400 photos from last weekend, you can scan through them on my picasa web album http://picasaweb.google.com/cpaigebrown.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Our RoomOur Room
Our Room

Room in the Hostel
Our Hostel from AboveOur Hostel from Above
Our Hostel from Above

So cool. Can't get over that we slept in a castle.
Morning FogMorning Fog
Morning Fog

So happy I woke up for this. It was beautiful
SunsetSunset
Sunset

The view from our castle.
Morning Morning
Morning

The vinyards in the morning
BeautifulBeautiful
Beautiful

Such a pretty area!
Typical GermanTypical German
Typical German

I love this picture. Reminds me of the small town Germany look we always learned as kids.
WEIN!WEIN!
WEIN!

Me and a large wine barrel
Mountain GoatMountain Goat
Mountain Goat

Real Mountain Goats!
On the boatOn the boat
On the boat

Getting some sun on the boat ride back.
Castle on the RheinCastle on the Rhein
Castle on the Rhein

This is the most well preserved Castle on the Rhein.
Sky Sky
Sky

Beautiful sky coming into Cologne!!


16th August 2007

No pictures
would love to see the pictures, but they won't load for some reason. Miss you! Cameron
16th August 2007

What a pro!
I love the pictures. You are awesome! I also love that all of Rachel's comments have to do with alcohol. And I love your hair. Basically, I love it all! Keep finding good photo opportunites and sharing them with us! Miss you tons!
11th September 2007

my german travel guide :)
Hi Paige, it's a lot of fun to read your blog. One day I think I'll take this as my travel guide and visit all the places you have been exploring and I haven't seen yet. I guess that's just the way it is when you are growing up in a country. the tourists usually see more than you do. Looking forward to read more of your adventures!

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb