Awe


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Gießen
November 6th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Front of House (FOH, or where the booth is)Front of House (FOH, or where the booth is)Front of House (FOH, or where the booth is)

I really like this set up. At least for this event.
Today was good. Apparently we’re pretty far ahead of usual. Lots of interesting surprises though.

I set the movers on the floor twice, then had them ready to go. Like 3 hours later, one of the main guys says, “I like working with you. I really do. So I hate to ask this.” I said, “We need to move them again.” Yep. It wasn’t so bad; I was good at it by then. After he told me about all the changes, he explained, “Just so you know, no Willow stuff is ever like this. We have WYG drawings in March. We never change this much.” It was kind of funny. I know you can plan the tar out of something and still have to redesign on the fly. He really didn’t want me to think this was normal. I had a lot of down time. It was like 20 minutes of doing something NOW and an hour of sitting. It was also the first day we really had internet access in the venue. Most of the set is done, just waiting for backline now.

I called Tato for
Huge Leaves!Huge Leaves!Huge Leaves!

Look how huge these are! The camera doesn't do it justice. That's a regular pen on top.
his birthday. It was 8 A.M. at home, and 5 P.M. here. I said, “Do you know what time it is here? It’s dinner time.” “That’s IMPOSSIBLE!!!!! It’s morning here!” He was funny.

I love the way they have FOH set up. 2 sets of risers at different heights. The front row as sound, lights, and basically the producers. The second, higher set, has the PowerPoint, maybe some other people, and what they call Skid Row- everyone else using a computer who doesn’t have a place. (I think this will go away for shows.) But it looks nice and is functional. The tables look like real wood, but aren’t, and I really like them! Uniform and classy.

The city is beautiful! Leave are turning and are all over. They have a river running through the city, like us. The maple leaves, though, are not normal. They’re like 9 inches wide! Huge!

All day, I was kind of in awe of how God works. Think about it: 40ish people from all over the world, with all sorts of experiences, come together in a foreign country to work. And it’s like clockwork. Community is being built. Work is getting
City on a HillCity on a HillCity on a Hill

Well, really it's on a river. But this part is on a hill. I wish I could zoom more and really show you.
done. Only He could pull it off; it has nothing to do with us. Pray that we will continue to be this way all week.

Tomorrow is a 12-hour day of mostly rehearsals and the conference starts on Thursday.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BeautifulBeautiful
Beautiful

Trees and city. Everything is turning! Even the roads are beautiful.
Check out that lens!Check out that lens!
Check out that lens!

(this one's for the techs...) Think about how good our IMAG would be with this baby!


6th November 2007

Lens
Smith, Hey I am going to fed ex you a box to grab those camera lenses and ship them to us. I will also need the tripods to support the lens. No one will notice if you give them a cookie. Miss ya, Dave
12th November 2007

Who made the comment about Willow? Because we don't do WYG stuff on a weekend basis at Willow? Whoever said that is a LIAR!!!!

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb