Nice German Boys


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Gießen
November 7th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night, I was in bed around 9:30. Just resting and reading and not being upright or around people. I was 2 pages from putting down my book and rolling over to sleep when my roommate walks in. We unpacked the day (this is our normal routine now) and vented a bit, discussing frustrations and worries and things that went well. Our team is doing a bit better than hers is. Anyway, we ended up looking at pictures of family and talking until after midnight. Gross. So, not a lot of sleep.

The last few days, I’ve been the first one up and in the shower, but she had a meeting this morning, so I got to sleep in. When my alarm went off, it startled me awake. This is the same alarm I use at camp, so I was thinking, “Shoot! I have to go make breakfast!” But then I realized I don’t have to cook anything and hit the snooze. At breakfast, I sat with 3 nice German boys. They’re guys I’ve seen all week around and we’ve chatted back and forth. Last night we talked about American music, because everywhere here, they’re playing bad American music- you never hear the good stuff. So we were just chatting.

The speak English pretty well, but some words mean the right thing but are wrong to use. One asked me what I do in real life. Someone said something about what time you stand out of bed. I said, “we say ‘get’ out of bed, but in America, mostly we roll out of bed.” They thought it was funny. I told them I love their country and one told me to just stay then. Not this trip… “Next time you come to Germany, buy a one-way ticket.” 2 of the guys are cousins, and the other is not (I asked.) I asked if he was a wanna-be cousin, maybe he’d marry a cousin. One guy said, “you could marry my sister.” And he said, “no, that would make me your uncle!” They questioned me when I said “brother-in-law.”

Later, at the venue, we were working and I was busy and they weren’t and they came up and said, “Hello nice girl, do you need any help?” Funny.

Anyway, it’s so nice being at the venue because I can be online on my computer for free. The computer in the lobby is a little slow, but fine. But the keyboard is different. The Y and Z keys are switched, there’s extra letters and 2 shift-type keys, so some numbers have 2 symbols on them. It took me quite a while to figure out how to make the @ work. So, if there have been typos or anything odd in emails and blogs, that’s why. Sorry!

The stage is coming together. They’re adding plants and band gear now. All the jujzz. Pam and I were talking last night. It seems like there are somethings they’re making more complicated than we need to. Almost like Willow is used to working with so much that they can’t do smaller thing anymore, or Willow just has too much in the first place. I guess we’re running 8 Comm channels. 8! We couldn’t even figure out why that many. We’ll see how it all works out. I’ve got some cool background ideas. Pictures…

Advertisement



7th November 2007

Boyz
Hey, what did I tell you about those German Boys!! How is the Muskrat making out on the job? Dave
7th November 2007

Big leaves, nice boys, what more could you ask?
Remember what IIII said about nice German boys! I don't think you've mentioned grass yet. The legal kind. Do they have any there? And you better let those guys know you're not moving over...Angelami couldn't take it. Neither could we! Uber Blessings! Angie

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb